We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not the hotel, it's the museum”
Review of Dona Gracia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dona Gracia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
262 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“It's not the hotel, it's the museum”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The review is about the museum, one of the only hotels which is also a museum.Although you can enter in the hotel and look around it, we prefered to take an organised tour.They have tours daily and you have to call to make sure about the hours.The guide had excelent knowledge about the facts and we enjoyed every moment.Especialy is interesting what hapend after the owner decided to name the hotel " Dona Gracia" .I will not tell you so you will enjoy finding out directly from the guide.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kertesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
16
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in Dona Gracia hotel for 2 nights, during our tour around the sea of galilee area. this hotel have one of the beautiful Lobby that we ever saw. The decoration is break taking, and you feel like you are entering to a palace. The room was large clean and comfortable. We had a nice and varied Breakfast in the unique dining room. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is 2 minutes from the center of Tiberias and the promenade of the sea of galilee. Will be back to Dona Gracia for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nani56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a basic, three star hotel, not far from the Tiberias Promenade. Conveniently located near restaurants, bars, shops and the central bus station the hotel offers clean, comfortable rooms, free wifi in the lobby and a friendly staff.

Great for those who are watching their budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This tourist class hotel is situated not far from the promenade and is ideal for those with an eye on their wallets. The hotel boasts an interesting decor reminiscent of 16th century Spain, and highlighting the life of Dona Gracia, a wealthy philanthropist who was a forerunner of the Zionist movement. The small museum, research collection, and fabulous dresses bring to life the story of this courageous woman who persuaded a Sultan to her view.

The rooms were slightly dated and worn, but comfortable and apportioned. Wifi is only available in the lobby, but free of charge. The dining was adequate, but not overly well-presented or extensive. As a budget accommodation, the hotel is more than suitable for those spending a few days in the Galilee.

The staff was helpful and sought to accommodate. Shopping and the Promenade close by.

Recommended for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryne, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Dona Gracia Hotel is in the center of Tiberias. Good and clean rom, good food, but most of all: A friendly atmosphere you seldom find in a hotel. You feel you are part of the family! (And yes: We did visit Naomi Shemers grave!) Toda raba v'lehitraot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the Dona Gracia for one night while traveling to the north of Israel. This is a very basic budget hotel. I did feel that it was overpriced for what it was. I would expect to pay about $50 or so for a hotel of this quality. The lobby was very nice, but the rooms were very basic and felt a little worn out. There was a Birthright program while we were there and they were also quite noisy. Breakfast is served in the basement and it was also very basic. If you are traveling on a budget or want a very basic accommodation, then this will be a fine fit, but if you are looking for something a little nicer, I would keep looking. The Dona Gracia does allow one night stays, which I know that other neighboring hotels do not, so that is something to keep in mind.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeLover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during my 6th visit to Holyland. It is a decent hotel and can be considered as superior 3* but not a 4*. Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a small museum in the lobby. They could have maintained it better with proper illumination.The lobby is dark because of no proper light. I didn't like the restaurant which is again a dark one and the food is also not great.The location is very good with more shops and the hotel is walk-able distance from Sea of Galilee. Overall its an average hotel but better than other 3* properties in Tiberias.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseittan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#11 of 37 in Tiberias
471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza
#16 of 37 in Tiberias
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#17 of 37 in Tiberias
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Gracia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Gracia Hotel

Property: Dona Gracia Hotel
Address: Rehov HaPrachim 3, Tiberias 14204, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Gracia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dona Gracia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing