We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel Service but Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinar Holiday Village
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Kinar Classic is a Poor Hotel Service but in Excellent Location, the rooms are low level, morning service room not exist, the food is kosher glatt and also not good. The price is too high to it hotel level.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiguelNicolaevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Kinar hotel is located next to the Sea of ​​Galilee, soak in greenery all around and can be used as an exit point for tours in the Galilee region and the Golan Heights, the hotel itself is reasonable, meals with strict Kosher but certainly satisfactory. Large rooms suitable for large families or for several partners interested in sharing the room. Most of the rooms have been renovated in the past year but there are still some old rooms. Excellent service and kind staff that is always willing to help.
Particularly suitable orthodox religious families seeking to make a family event on Saturday or for groups that want to stay where strict observance of Shabbat and kosher rulls

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the main building or have the rooms that recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Kinar Holiday Village is geared towards religious Jews, with a high standard of kashruth and a number of synagogues. My husband and I spent a long week-end here which included a number of cultural events, a tour, and lectures by well-known rabbis during the Sabbath. Everything was organized - from our arrival, check-in, to the tours and meals. The service was quick and friendly throughout our visit, and the food was excellent. We look forward to attending a similar program in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janetgool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

OK. My first negative review. We went to the Kinar because nothing else was available and some people told us it's okay and it was kosher. We signed up for the room with breakfast. We took 3 rooms. My wife and I, my two son in laws, my two granddaughters and my great niece.
We walked into the main lobby which is right by the entrance to the dining room. What a "balagan" as they say in hebrew. Noisy as anything. This is a family resort so kids galore.
We got registered relatively quickly. The rooms were down one flight. (So you had the lobby/dining room floor, one down and one up. Also disconnected bungalows outside that I cannot rate but was told by some people was newer but not nice rooms - again, I didn't see them). In any event, upon opening the door to the room you are assaulted by a terrible smell. All rooms with the same smell. Carpets were dirty, linen old and stained. Room was quite large. Checked for bed bugs, but didn't find any. Had two beds pushed together and a couch that became a bed. When my son in laws separated the beds they found sunflower seed shells all over the place. great cleaning crew. Good things - had a fridge and a safe. Had a tv but I'm not interested in that. The noise outside the rooms of children was very loud. There were kids skating and biking in the hallways!
The bathroom had a soap dispenser on the wall and one in the shower. The soap was supposed to double as body wash and hair shampoo?? Good thing we brought our own. No soap bars (is that like the no soap radio joke?). The shower had one of those handheld nozzles that is supposed to be able to hang on top, but that was broken. Had to be a contortionist to take a shower without washing down the whole bathroom. The toilet paper was cut sheets of toilet paper. Exactly two bath towels and two hand towels and one bathmat, stained as well. When I got into the shower I nearly slipped and killed myself, it was so slippery. The second day we got replacement towels but no bathmat - maybe we weren't entitled to it.
At night the AC wasn't very high. When I checked the controls, it was set to the coldest.
We went out at night. When we returned we wanted to buy bottles of water, but they couldn't sell us any because the refridgerator is locked at night! No drinks, no nothing! In a hotel where we paid big bucks to get our rooms.
Safety - The door had a lock and key on both sides. No chain or anything else on the inside.
We did not use the pool or beach. We were there for nights and spent the days sightseeing the country - which, by the way, is incredibly beautiful with tons to do and learn - but that's not for this review.
The best thing about the hotel was breakfast. A lot of different items and pretty good. I think they get eggs from different chickens because the eggs didn't taste very good. the coffee machine only filled your cup between a half and three quarters, so by pushing the button a second time it overflows. The second morning we took two cups of coffee each! Little things but annoying.
They made fresh eggs, pancakes, pita, etc.
Cheese cake was horrible.
But overall, the breakfast was the best thing about the hotel.
I had an issue to discuss with the front desk but they only knew hebrew.
Checkout was easy and painless.
My reviews are usually positive, but that's because we seek out hotels highly recommended at this site. This one was a bomb. I gave it two stars because there was a roof over our heads!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Mutty_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Room was smely, carpet was dirty. The “beach” of Tiberias Lake has a separate area for men and women. Diner buffet was average.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponyfabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I can't recommend this hotel, because the director of the hotel allows, that the employees catch the alley cats round the hotel.
They put them into a tiny cage and let them there without feed and water, until these poor animals starve.
These are not civilized people there, if they abuse animals.
They can't imagine the suffering of animals, it seems..........it's a pity......

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabine223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

My family loves spending a Sabbath (Shabbat) here more than about any other hotel place around!

Although this place has an int'l staff and clientele, it definitely targets folks with some understanding of Jewish traditions and Hebrew. The pool & health club are closed for the Sabbath, and Sabbath menus are limited by those restrictions and kosher guidelines. Once you wrap your arms around those kinds of things, the place is great.

The food is abundant, and includes buffet items I've never seen anywhere (cheeses from Switzerland and France; smoked meats from Europe & elsewhere). Israeli items like oil-cured olives, mushroom borekas, and mixed salad plates are all first-rate. I marvel at the shnitzel & my kids still miss the cakes.

The beach is not the world's best this year, largely because Israel's not so friendly neighbors have been diverting the already scarce water from the sources of the Kineret (Sea of Galilee) so that the shoreline is down near the critical "red zone." It's also a public-access beach and not private to the hotel. (By the way, it's one of the few in the country with a full mechitza.)

This is your chance to see genuine orthodox Israelis of all flavors (sfardi, hasidic, litvish, etc) all getting along. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank briut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Aviv
Hotel Aviv
#20 of 38 in Tiberias
100 reviews
0 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rimonim Mineral Tiberias
Rimonim Mineral Tiberias
#12 of 38 in Tiberias
468 reviews
0 mi away
Caesar Premier Tiberias
Caesar Premier Tiberias
#4 of 38 in Tiberias
699 reviews
0 mi away
Gai Beach Resort Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinar Holiday Village

Address: NE Sea Of Galilee, Tiberias 12490, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range: $154 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinar Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kinar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinar Holiday Village Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing