We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the nicest city in Israel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiberias

Tiberias
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.43*
and up
Private Tour: Nazareth, Tiberias and Sea of Galilee Day Trip from Jerusalem
Ranked #6 of 33 things to do in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the nicest city in Israel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stopped and had lunch in Tiberias and to visit a few tombs. The city itself smelled and full of feral cats. The plus side is the view of the Sea of Galilee is stunning no matter where you are in the city. I just didn't care for the city.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sbkfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    143
    90
    42
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base for sightseeing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We used Tiberius as a base for two and a half days of sightseeing around the Sea of Galilee! We rented a car and was able to drive all the way around the Sea and visited so many historic and interesting sights. We especially enjoyed walking along the Promenade each night. We were there on a Saturday and Sunday night and it was great to watch the city come back to life after Shabbat. We also watched the full "Super" moon rise over the Sea! Breathtaking and something we will never forget!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sea of Galillee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I went to Tiberias in April, 2013. It has a Tourist Information Centre. The staff is very nice. I didn’t find day trip of Tiberias as you can find in Jerusalem or TelAviv. The city has buses but they are not frequent at tourist places. I drove around the Sea of Galilee by taxi. I will consider rent to a car in my next trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best place to visit....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

hot springs....great view from every place.....amazing lake with great history and activities ....lots of hiking trips all around.....beautiful and amazing restaurants at the boardwalk especially "Bazel bar and restaurant" that is located in front of the "Tiberium" water show one of the amazing shows

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shaiel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Celebrated my birthday there with my friend - a whole day trip from Tel Aviv”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I liked the views, the warmness of the people, the weather, the spiritual atmosphere and the food. I also appreciated the holy cites there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RevitalEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiberias also viewed

 

Been to Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing