We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Sea of Galilee

Sea of Galilee
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Christian Sites by the Sea of Galilee from Tel Aviv
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This area of Israel is rich with sight-seeing opportunities. The ruins of the synagogue and Peter's home in Capernuam are awe inspiring! The Mt of Beatitudes and the Jesus boat at Kibbutz Ginnesar are well worth seeing. Night shopping from vendors is a fun experience where you can purchase inexpensive treasures to cherish the memories!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideAussie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    337
    76
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to Galilee as part of a pligrimage. Amazing place to see, untouched by man so the history behind this is spectacular. We went on a boat out into the sea with a guide, they switched the engine off the boat and we sat there in total peace and tranquility for a few minutes with breathtaking views. Lovely restaurant right on sea front serving St Peter's fish, although i did not have this as it was a full fish (including head and eyes etc..) but some of my group had it and said it was very nice! Was absoloutely fantastic experience. Tiberias looks a lovely place and would like to stay there one day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank adele40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful When Looking Down At It”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Kinneret (Sea of Galilee) is a very pretty lake and is used as a water source in Israel. There are lovely cactus plants, date trees and wild flowers all over. It is most beautiful when viewed from the hills and mountains of the Galilee and the Golan. Then it looks magical. I am not a huge fan of the towns close to the lake and the hotels/resorts there. I would not choose to stay close to it. You can most certainly swim in the lake (go to one of the hotels/resorts that have direct "beach access") You can also do water sports or boat on the lake. Not my thing. The best reason to have to be close to the Kinneret is for religious reasons. Otherwise, go tour the breathtaking northern part of Israel and look down at the lake from afar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Don't miss a boat ride on the Galilee”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Walking distance to the boat dock and boat ride. Wonderful experience with Mark's boat. Also nice promenade walkway along the Galilee from hotel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun to go to”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Swimming in the sea is enjoyable. We have been seeking for a boat tour but couldn't find any good ones. Be aware the beaches at Tiberias have mostly pebbles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chayimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea of Galilee also viewed

 

Been to Sea of Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing