We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pilgrimage from Wroughton”
Review of Sea of Galilee

Sea of Galilee
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Christian Sites by the Sea of Galilee from Tel Aviv
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pilgrimage from Wroughton”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

During our stay we visited most of the available sites and also a boat ride on the Sea of Galilee. We had lovely weather and uninterupted travel all around the Lake

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank theleaderofthepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    345
    76
    18
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take the boat ride - Sea of Galilee”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Sea of Galilee (boat ride) with praise and worship is a wonderful experience.Also know as the Lake of Gennesaret, Lake Kinneret in the Bible, you feed the seagull.
We were very blessed as the lake was really calm for us. Violent storms sometimes rush down from the surrounding mountains causing very rough water.
Here, Jesus rebuked the winds and the sea and walked on water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberto-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Took a boat ride”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Whether you just stand on its shores, swim in its waves, or take a boat ride across, the shape and history of this place is bound to captivate!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZoomMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must See”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The place where Jesus did most of his ministry is a must see. We stayed at Nof Ginosaur and had a great experience here. We walked down from the Mt of Beatitudes into Capernum and then sailed over to the Jesus Boat Museum near the kibbutz. A nice experience . Just make sure you ask them to not play your countries anthem...a spoiler to your visit in my opinion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GR8TRAILBLAZERFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite the range of things to see... FYI - it is a lake....”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited Capharnaum, the town of Jesus and the Sea of Galilee (which is a fresh water lake) makes up most of the area. The water is cold (in Feb) but people still went swimming. There are a lot of clam and snail shells along the beaches (great for youngsters to collect).

The scenery was very picturesque and the scene overall is peaceful. You can see our video from the trip here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSmlWbt1j4E If you are going for the day during the winter, dress warm.

The restaurant serves whole (and I mean whole... scales on) deep fried fish. Looks not so appitizing but tastes great. Here is a video of the area, check it out for yourself... we even have a shot of the cooked fish...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea of Galilee also viewed

 

Been to Sea of Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing