We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the lake but outside building needs repaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the lake but outside building needs repaint”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed connecting rooms (junior suite + regular room).. The suite and the room relatively clean and spacious .. Oke for a hotel that standard in Tiberiad.. Dinner was good with wide selections of local dishes so too was bfast

We dont have any complaints and we think its good value for money.. But definitely not a 5star hotel .. Friendly reception ..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    263
    103
    40
    28
See reviews for
259
204
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis TN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at Starwood Properties Hotels in Cairo, Amman, Tiberius, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem from December 15 until December 31, 2012. Except for Herod's in Tel Aviv all the properties were Leonardo Plazas. The Cairo hotel is just across from the Pyramids and has a great view, but like the city, it is showing the decline, rapidly, of Western Civilization.
Most all of the the chain's beds are single and can be butted or zippered together to get a semi-queen size. Our tour group had breakfast and dinner at each property. It's not American, but it is palatable. Don't eat salads, ice, tap water, fruits or non hotel food in Egypt or Jordan unless a reputable tour guide says otherwise. Everything is ok to eat and drink in Israel. There's no bacon as we know it anywhere in these areas.
My aching back was saved and relieved by Moriah, the Front Desk Receptionist who found an unclaimed suite with a real queen bed for the two nights we stayed at the Leonardo Plaza in Tiberias. She is a gem and if there were more like her I would have had higher marks for the chain.
As a whole, the places are good for tour groups and cost conscious travelers. The locations are uniformly good but lose that advantage by the beds and the fact that in Egypt and Jordan you have to pay for coffee and bottled water at the dinner meal.
I doubt that I would stay at any of them again because there is no free wifi in any of them. I swiped a wifi unsecured signal from our 22nd floor room in Jerusalem and from a street bench in front of the Lot Hotel at the Dead Sea. McDonalds has throtteld down wifi at their Israeli locations and only the Israeli properties accept credit cards. The McD in Luxor took American bills but no wifi or credit cards. I didn't stop at the McD in Cairo because it was in a very seedy neighborhood that didn't look like it had running water and definitely no garbage pickup.
Herod's in Tel Aviv had pencil thin beds and no carpet on the floor of a room size that would be fine for a hot pillow joint back home. It was on the main beach front drag in Tel Aviv and just down the road from the American Embassy. If you need their services plan on being very thoroughly interviewed by an Israeli protective services company that guards the outside entrances. There are Marines, but they are out of sight behind very thick walls and fences. Always politely demand to be put through to a real American born, Foreign Service Officer. Nobody is there at night so have access to a telephone. There is no flag or placard in front of the building indicating its identity.
From what I've seen, if you decide to go, now is the best time. Prices won't be going any lower except in Egypt. Arrange to fly into Cairo and be met at the airport by your tour guide. Spend the night at either a Crowne Plaza or Sheraton and have your guide drive with an armed security escort to the Pyramids and then back to the Egyptian Museum. Spend the night and fly down to Luxor and see the Valley of the Kings and the Temple of Carnack. Stay again at either a Crowne Plaza or Sheraton and then get the hell out of Egypt. As far as Jordan goes, Petra is best seen in the Indiana Jones movie. The Moven-Pick Hotel in Aqaba was the only true 5 star property we stayed at but the whole country left such a very bad taste in my mouth that I now see no reason to even consider stopping there.
Bring a bit more cash than you would expect to since most every place in Egypt and Jordan, outside of the hotels, does not accept credit cards. Some of the money launderers posing as currency exchanges will let you exchange an American 100 dollar bill for a a stack of US one dollar bills without charge. Get a upgrade in your credit card, usually a freebie, so that you are not hit with foreign exchange transaction fees, usually about 2.7%. Stay away from ATM's. They pop a 10 dollar transaction fee if you use one and they only dispense local currency. The suks, the markets are usually cash only, but most take US dollars. Just keep the exchange rates in mind so that they don't overcharge.
If you want to go to Bethlehem, it is in the Palastinean Authority (Gaza). Think about it before you go. The sign at the border crossing says Israeli citizens are forbidden to enter. There's just a church at the Manger and no one can be sure if it is the real location. Don't go buying anything purported to be a piece of the true cross either.

Room Tip: Book a queen size and make sure they don't zipper or push together two singles and call it a que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent while overlooking the beautiful sea of Galilee. We were within walking distance to town where there were booths with all kinds of wares being sold, a light show and a pub. It was very busy at the hotel and meals were quite crowded and noisy......which I guess is a great thing for business! The food however was just adequate. There was a variety of salads to choose from and a selection of meats as well. It was basic food and nothing was great.....we certainly didn't overeat. The rooms and the pool were good. the best thing about this hotel is the location as the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in Tiberias overlooking the beautiful Sea of Galilee.  The hotel is clean, staff friendly, and it is in walking distance to various shops.
In the evening, there was a light show on the water that was quite entertaining. I stayed for 1 night but I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location is good. At the shores of the Lake of Galilee. There is a flea market that opens even at night. There are also small shops selling drinks and there are places you can exchange money for shekels nearby. The staff at the restaurant were helpful and responsive.They checked whether we liked the food.The breakfast provided is better than the dinner. Go for the queue for freshly fried eggs first or face a long queue. That can be a problem when you are rushing for time. However, the room fittings at the hotel are tired-looking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mordecai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Extremely comfortable, food was excellent. Excellent service. Great view of Sea of Galilee. The AC was not working so we had to call them. the Location was great, rite next to the Sea of Galilee and lots of shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSANA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel was great! One of the very best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The food and the service was awesome here. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is staying in the city of Tiberias!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caesar Premier Tiberias
Caesar Premier Tiberias
#6 of 37 in Tiberias
633 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza
#18 of 37 in Tiberias
356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rimonim Mineral Tiberias
Rimonim Mineral Tiberias
#9 of 37 in Tiberias
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias

Property: Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
Address: 1 Ha-Banim, Tiberias 1420163, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tiberias
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Family Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leonardo Plaza Tiberias located on the shores of the Sea of Galilee where you can rediscover yourself, visit our pampering SPA while the children amuse themselves in the Children’s Club, enjoy rich dinner at the Herod’s Restaurant or just relax on the beach with a book. Enjoy the pampering hotel service, nature and sea treasures in an exclusive atmosphere. Modern rooms, generous service and balconies overlooking the Sea of Galilee make your stay at Leonardo Plaza Tiberias an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tiberias
Tiberias Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing