We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touristy, touristy, touristy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Decks Restaurant

Decks Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mediterranean, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Touristy, touristy, touristy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Three years ago, I liked the place. This time, I walked out. The place clearly relies on the big bus tourist groups (commisions anyone?), huge ugly parking place, dining room looks like a school cafeteria. The restaurant was basicaly empty but still the waiter refused to seat me on the deck outside. I guess it was just too much trouble to tend the lone tourist SO far away from the kitchen. Otherwise, the fish and wine as I remember from the last visit was fairly good.
On the other side of the lake is kibutz En Gev with a great fish restaurant, a nice large romantic deck by the lake, good waiters and tasty fish selection (including St. Peter fish grilled to perfection). After the dinner at En Gev, I really don´t understand all the buzz about Deck´s.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    121
    65
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Nice location, good food, indifferent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This restaurant is highly recommended in Fodor, which is why we left another place to go there. It is a big wooden deck over the water. You have a beautiful view of the lake and can see the boisterous parties leaving and arriving on the party boats that dock nearby. The claim to fame here is the cooking over wood fires. Our visit was marred by a clueless young waitress. I got two St. Peter's fishes when I only ordered one, and one in our party only got her dish when the rest of us were almost finished, and it was cold. The hummus and other appetizers were very good. The meat was tasty, but the lamb shoulder on the menu and the duck breast were not available. She came back and said that instead of the menu lamb shoulder at 39 NIS she could give us another bigger piece for 200 NIS per person.We refused. The duck and lamb shoulder are the two dishes most recommended by Fodor. The steak and the chicken breast servings were paltry and unadorned. The french fries were good. The foccacio was good but the waitress said it was the only bread available, even when we had ordered hummus. Unheard of in Israel, not to be able to get some pita with hummus. My overall impression is that the place is on autopilot and needs a good manager to sharpen up the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!! Great Atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were here on a family trip in December and we had a great time at Decks. There were a lot of groups at the restaurant, that is right on the Sea of Galillee, many celebrating Bar Mitzvahs!! It was so lively, with DJs and music and the freshly grilled foods were all amazing!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This looked like an old restaurant at a beach-front---which is what it was. It was very large, not so attractive, but the food was pretty good. Their foccacio was outstanding. I think part of the lack of appeal was that the place was mostly empty--that always makes us hesitate. But it was a nice dinner after all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PikesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh and plentiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food was great but the service was less than what I would have expected. It was late and we were tired and we constantly had to ask to be helped.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSGMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Decks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Decks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing