We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value and Experience”
Review of HI Poriya Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Poriya Hostel
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here during my Israeli National Trail marathon and it was one of my best accommodation experiences. There are beautiful views of the Sea of Galilee from the terrace and the entire facility has been recently renovated and looks beautiful. The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was generous by both choice and quality. The rooms were above average for a hostel. Its maybe a bit overpriced

Room Tip: No issues with rooms that I am aware of. I had a cabin which was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 35 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

There is no better youth hostel than this. We were staying as group and had great stay with stunning view and fantastic food during the weekend. You need a car to go there but location is great. No wonder it is close to the Swiss viewpoint and forest. Swiss views overlooking the lake with youth hostel prices. Stay in the main renovated building and you will refuse to leave

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

For views, there can't be many youth hostels that would top Poriya. Everything is swish and new and beautifully integrated with the environment – which is just on the side of the Kinneret with beautiful vistas in all directions. From traditional hostel rooms to charming lakeside 'cabins', Poriya is a varied but sparklingly clean, well-priced venue for any visitors to the Galil. Free wifi throughout and decent food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmidt-G-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a beautiful hostel with an amazing view in every direction. We had a cabin with a separate small bedroom for us and two bunk beds for the kids (14, 19). it is clean, the staff is friendly, the food was OK, plentiful. the view and atmosphere were super.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the hostel on a weekend and had a great time. The rooms are quite clean and the food served in the dining hall during breakfast is good. Only thing, the mattresses are not the most comfortable..
Overall an amazing place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived (2 adults 3 kids) to Poriya at the begining of march, The way to the Hostel is beautiful, the building is new and in very good shape there are 2 options for rooms: first as some kind of woden hat and the scound is in the big building, recommend the rooms in the building because it has a wondelful view balcony towards the sea of Galilee. the rooms ar wide, bathroom and toilet are seperate, there are option to open bads in upper level (the kids love this option), LCD TV and air condition in the rooms. all over the Hostel there is a free WiFi, Just go to the loby and ask for the password.
Sees the nearest resturant is ~20 Minuts form the hostel I recomend to eat at the hostel, the food is OK (we had dinner and brakefast). on fiday night might be noisy due to the Friday night jewish "Kidush".

Over all for those who looks for a plain vacation. it can be a good base for traveling in area of the East Galil

Room Tip: recommend the rooms in the building because it has a wondelful view balcony towards the sea of Galil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmezare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This is an amazing place. Gorgeous views over the sea of Galilee. Staff very friendly & breakfast delicious. We had a perfect time here, but you do need a car to get here and to get around from here. Hope to return very soon God Willing!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aroundtheworld1day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiberias
0 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#11 of 38 in Tiberias
518 reviews
0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Negev Beer-Sheva
0 mi away
Tiberias Hostel
Tiberias Hostel
#1 of 31 in Tiberias
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
HI Karei Deshe Hostel
HI Karei Deshe Hostel
#3 of 31 in Tiberias
72 reviews
0 mi away
Club Hotel Tiberias
Club Hotel Tiberias
#30 of 38 in Tiberias
194 reviews
0 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Poriya Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Poriya Hostel

Address: | PO Box 232, Tiberias 14101, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Tiberias
Price Range: $58 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the slopes of Mount Poriya, HI - Poriya Hostel overlooks the Sea of Galilee. Located 10 minutes' drive from Tiberias, it offers free Wi-Fi. Rooms and dormitories are air conditioned. A fridge and tea and coffee making facilities are also included. An Israeli breakfast buffet is served each morning. Completely Kosher, it includes salads, eggs, bread, cheese and yoghurt. Drinks are available from the vending machines. Parking is free at Poriya Guest House and a car is the best way of getting around. You are 10 km from the hot springs of Hamey Tiberias and Hamat Gader and the Luna Gal Water Park in Tiberias. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Poriyya! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your HI Poriya Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing