We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Safed
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I and my husband have been to this hotel in January 2012. Nobody is out and nothing is opened on Shabbat in Safed, so be prepared to drive to another city to find a restaurant. The atmosphere is very eclectic: there is a big variety of Asian and European artifacts all over the castle ( used to be many centuries ago ). The staff and the owner, who is a Cali private collector, were very welcoming. They've upgraded our room free of charge, which was a nice surprise.The big plus was a very good condition of the bathroom( great shower, good water pressure), we've been to many zimmers and hotels around Israel, so that mattered. AC, TV with many channels. There is an open bar with the variety of drinks, coffee, snacks, fruits. The restaurant is in the basement with the wine cellar and it's own draw well!

There is something else. As a very old place, which has been renovated, it still has some mysterious atmosphere to it. We came very late evening, the light everywhere was subdued. The "Angels" paintings - the owner's hobby, added even more spiritual feeling to it. You have a sensation as if they are "watching and following " you everywhere you go. You'll see them in every room. The owner has a very cute black cat, for some reason after couple hours walking around this place, I wasn't surprised to see a black cat. In the middle of the night the window opened wide and so loud that I jumped up on my bed. Was waiting for the morning to come with the TV on.

Nevertheless, I highly recommend this hotel. A well-run business, with the great food, service and a bit of mystery.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyAllenNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Loved the eclectic and colorful decor. Our rooms were large, comfortable, clean, with the added bonus in the Palacio room of a roomy private balcony. The owner and staff were friendly, helpful and hospitable. The breakfast was absolutely delicious - fresh everything with warm breads. The location was perfect. Bought several unique items in the artists' colony. Highly recommend this unusually great hotel in a very interesting part of Israel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Everything about this boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. My room was comfortable and beautiful. The service was first rate. I enjoyed relaxing in the lounges. Fruit , cookies and drinks were available at all times. The location in Safed is perfect

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leaffan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This was the most magnificent hotel I have ever had the privilege of staying at. We booked because of the wonderful reviews but never expected such a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The owner and his staff were kind, helpful and very professional . The buffet breakfast was fit for a king. Everything was perfect! We look forward to returning again one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacdonaldMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

First, in full disclosure, the trip was actually in June of 2010, but September was the earliest date Trip Advisor would let me use.

Although our family trip to Israel was amazing, the level of service at the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in throughout the country was generally disappointing. Not so, however, the Palacio. In many regards, this hotel is more akin to a bed and breakfast than a typical hotel. It is as if you are a guest in Jean Yves' grand estate.

The rooms are eclectic in design, but quite comfortable. The food service is family-style and the food was by far the best we had in Israel.

There are many wonderful sights of the ancient community of Safed within walking distance of the Palacio. Safed is also within easy driving distance of both Akko and Haifa (where the Bahai Gardens are not to be missed!).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful days in Safed at the Palacio Domaine boutique hotel. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Jean-eve and his lovely staff. The hotel is a gorgeous restored 14th century building that is elegant, gorgeous and comfortable. Our room (the Palacio) was very large with a comfortable bed and private deck overlooking the valley. We also had bottled water each day, fresh fruit and candies provided (and free wifi!)
Morning breakfasts was a dream come true. Fresh baked goods, fruit, eggs, cheese from the region, etc. There is also a well stocked bar to help yourself to a drink (free) which we did each evening, especially enjoying a glass of champagne with our host. And finally, it was our 20th year anniversary. My husband arranged for an incredible dinner in the dining room. The ambiance was romantic, the food was delicious and the service was at its best. You must stay here. You'll feel welcomed and at home. We look forward to a return visit soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is the previous home of the mayor of Saved and has been renovated and decorated with such attention to detail that it is breaktaking. It is a castle full of antiques, art and wonderful hospitality. The rooms are spacious and decorated to the hilt. It is costly, however, and in the middle of a crumbling and ancient city. A water spring allegedly runs under the hotel, supplying water to the city, but we opted to leave for the art galleries and didn't have time to see it!. The open bar , fruit and cookies are welcoming and the breakfast is gourmet and fabulous.
The only major drawback is that Palacio Domaine was impossible to find, with a tiny sign, and on line GPS and Google Map didn't help, but a call to the hotel was invaluable as the owner stayed on the phone with us, and directed us block by block to the parking lot.

Room Tip: Our family had 3 rooms and all were fine but some had stairs inside the room (mine was all on one fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.2 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#3 of 5 in Safed
214 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
1.1 mi away
Canaan Spa Hotel
Canaan Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Safed
171 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Rehov Yod Bet 90 | Artist Colony Quarters, Safed 13211, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safed Beautiful Boutique Hotel Un impressive and Beautiful Palatial Mansion Bed & Breakfast Boutique Hotel ideally situated in the Heart of the desirable area of Safed Artist's colony quarter's footsteps to art galleries, ancient Synagogues, Holy sites, the Old City and the perfect base to enjoy Safed while touring the Heartland of the Galilee region. Palacio Domain features large and luxurious surroundings, spacious Penthouses with private terrace overlooking at commanding views of the Galilee Mountains and the Old City, individually decorated exquisite & spacious guestrooms with view and two huge & unique stone structure private residence homes situated on the first ground floor of the Mansion. Palacio is an enchanting and exclusive Manor tastefully designed to enjoy luxurious hospitality with the comforts, privacy and atmosphere of a private home. ******** * The Manor * Private House- $995 per night. Impressive,unique and elegant stone house of 3659 square feet/340m2 throughout located in an elegant 12th-Century Mansion, boasting exquisitely crafted stones walls and stunning arches with high ceilings, huge and spacious living room area, large Master bedroom equipped with one Queen size bed and private shower and toilet, two additional small bedrooms, one room with one double bed, one room with roll-away bed and one extra Sofa bed situated next to the living room area, two flat screen TV's, one extra bathroom with shower and toilet, individual heat and air conditioning unit, washer and dryer, kitchen equipped with fridge, stove, microwave, cutlery, plates, Coffee and Tea cups, Kettle, glasses and two private entrances including one for the handicapped. Ideal Occupancy 6 people. ********* * Guesthouse * Private House- $995 per night. Exquisite stone house of 3928 square feet/365m2 throughout, boasting beautifully crafted stone walls with arches & Ceilings, spacious living room area, large Master bedroom equipped with king size bed, two additional bedrooms each equipped with one double bed, two flat screen TV's,one bathroom with shower and toilet and another bathroom with Bath top and toilet, individual heat and air conditioning unit, kitchen equipped with fridge, stove, microwave, cutlery, plates, Coffee and Tea cups, Kettle, glasses, large courtyard leading to two private entrances. Ideal Occupancy 6 people. **It is advisable to book your reservations in advance.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing