We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really expected more”
Review of Villa Galilee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Galilee
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Safed
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I really expected more”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I wrote the same in my review to the hotel, we came there as a family ( 3 kids) and we got a room without a bath ( luckily my mom had another room with a bath in which I can bathe a 9 month old) and a shower so small we hardly fit in it with the 2 other kids who needed adult supervision while bathing. The room was too dirty to allow the baby to crawl so we rolled up all the carpets. The food was ok but considering the price of dinned one would expect more. In addition apart from the manager the staff at the reception was really unfriendly ( example I had a spa appointment and came to ask where to wait instead of answering me the receptionist told me I must put a robe on before entering the spa - no idea why). The massages too ( for me) were not of high standard and it did not feel like a relaxing spa. Again if the prices were not equal to other boutique hotels I would understand but this was not a cheap trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michisichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivada, Owner at Villa Galilee, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello,
It seems that the main problem is that you got a room that is not suited for babies. We have other rooms that are much more adequate with a spacious bath.
We took your remarks into consideration and we'll our best to improve our service.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    42
    40
    25
    23
See reviews for
46
133
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and Im afraid I have to agree with the reviewers who gave it either a poor rating or average rating due to the following reasons. When we arrived there was one person at the reception who was too busy shouting at what I assumed was a former customer and therefore ignored our family. We were eventually given the room keys and I will say that the room was spacious if a little tired looking. Cleanliness is not the hotels forte, in fact, its quite dirty, spa area included. Breakfast was okay, nothing special, as was the one dinner we had was far from exciting. The pool area is fine , the lifeguard or pool shopkeeper was a little strange boardline eery. I will add and write that the room doors are too thin and every bit of noise can be heard, so if you are after romance alongside peace and quiet this might prove challenging. Finally, we werent approached even once by any staff memeber throughout out stay but as we were leaving someone "hanging out" at the reception asked us to fill out a questionare about our hotel experience. At tht point I only smiled and politely declined, afterall, I have tripadvisor. To conclude I would say that its not the worst place weve ever stayed in , but it has to improve substantially for us to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivada, Owner at Villa Galilee, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello,
I'm sorry that you had this experience in our hotel. We are doing our best to improve our service and we'll take your comments to our attention.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Villa Galilee few times before (with and without children) and it was a pleasure every time. Very beautiful and pastorale place in the north of Israel. High quality service. Very clean. Excellent food.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Guy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivada, Owner at Villa Galilee, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello Guy,
Thank you for your response and for taking the time to share your experience in the hotel.

Waiting forward to see you again.

Daniel Sivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at holiday's period, when children are aloud at the hotel. The room we got was very spacious and clean. The hotel lobby is very comfortable as we were staying with another family and use the lobby for gathering. The staff is helpful and kind. Breakfast was fresh and we enjoyed eating looking at the galilee views. there is also an outdoor pool, which is rather small but sufficient for the children. I will recommend this hotel for anyone who want to tour the galilee.

Room Tip: the penthouse room are with very large balcony with beatiful overviews and also a nice jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldadov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivada, Manager at Villa Galilee, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Eladov,
I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
Hope to see you back again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel, after an enjoyable earlier experience, and we were not disappointed.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and made its best to make our stay pleasant.
The hotel is well designed and decorated, and the rooms are convenient and cozy.
Breakfast and dinner were great with lots of choices.
The swimming pool is small but just enough for that size of hotel.
We also enjoyed the massage treatments that were offered by the hotel.
The hotel location is great for travelers to northern Israel - within a short drive from all the main attractions.
Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy2guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivada, Manager at Villa Galilee, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We'll be happy to see you again.

Regards,

Daniel Sivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivo'n
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We start. Pool was quiet and great. we stayed with our two children in two delux rooms. The room was convenient with all needed staff and comfort. Pool was great and quiet with great water and service. Tea corner was located nearby. Food was extraordiner with great breakfest and special dinner at the chef resturant. Free Wifi , great spirit, good service and great food with the lovely fresh dry cool air of Zefad. Warmly Reccomanded.

Room Tip: Take at least the delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivada, Owner at Villa Galilee, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your friendly review.
I'm happy to hear you had a nice stay and hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant weekend at this hotel. The staff is friendly led by an attentive hotel manager, the decoration is lovely and the courtyard has a number of small tables and chairs where you can sit and read a book or have a drink. There is also a small pool. The restaurant is very nice. As we booked through an online booking site we were unaware that they do not serve warm dinner during the summer months ( due to restrictions of kosher restaurants), but we received a very nice spread of salads and cheeses. The one complaint I had was about their standard room, which was very small and had only a small window overlooking an unattractive patch of land. When I mentioned this to the manager we were moved to a very nice upgraded room with a stunning view over the upper Galilee mountains .

Room Tip: Although the standard rooms have everything you need including small fridge and complementary tea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chava60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivada, Owner at Villa Galilee, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope as well to see you back.
Note that your comment about warm dinner is on Saturday evenings only.
Waiting forward to see you again.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
1.0 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
0.3 mi away
Canaan Spa Hotel
Canaan Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Safed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Galilee

Property: Villa Galilee
Address: Hagdud Hashlishi 106 | Mt. Canaan, Safed 13100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Galilee 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel located in the Galilee heights, recently became a member of the prestigious European hotel chain "Chateaux & Hotels Collection". The hotel contains a SPA with an extensive treatment list, a bistro restaurant and terraces overlooking the hotel gardens and the surrounding mountains. In the vicinity: the Sea of Galilee, Golan Heights, forests, mountains, the ancient city ,the tombs of the just, Druze villages and much more. You will enjoy a special ambiance and a sense of tranquility at our small and luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Galilee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Galilee Hotel Safed
Villa Galilee Safed, Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing