We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An idyllic setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruth Rimonim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruth Rimonim
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Safed
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An idyllic setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is set in the hills almost at the top of Safed (pronounced "Zfat"). From the outside it looks fairly unprepossessing, but inside it is very nice indeed. We had a "Garden room" and it was very acceptable, cool, spacious and with a little shaded terrace outside with a table and chairs looking over the town and the blue hills of Galilee. As we stepped out of the room, ten yards to the right was the restaurant, five yards to the left and down a flight of stairs was the bar, down a flight of stairs from the bar was the swimming pool. The hotel, being built into the side of a hill majors in stairs.
The town is very interesting, having been a centre for the study of Kaballa for hundreds of years and now having an artists colony starting almost outside the hotel door, the region is very interesting, with the Sea of Galilee and a lot of important Christian sites within easy reach. The staff tend to be a little unhelpful and prickly (hence the nickname "Sabra") but one soon learns who to approach and who not. If you are used to the service and attitude of German and Italian hotels this will be a shock, so be prepared. That said, I would go again.

Room Tip: lots of steps, so have a pair of stout shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanfairhurst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimonimHotels, Manager at Ruth Rimonim, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
dear alanfairhurst2,

It was so lovely to read your review and to know that the hard work is appreciated, we strive to deliver the best service to all our guests and it is always great to hear when we succeed.
Thank you for your kind comments and the time taken to post them.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future, just let us know when.

Best regards,
Yulia Fridman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    155
    79
    36
    35
See reviews for
169
208
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

It was our 30th Wedding Anniversary so we thought we'd upgrade to the the Meron room. I booked online.The Meron Rooms are smaller than the Website pictures depict and the online description.I went down to reception and the desk clerk said yes it was A Meron room. If there are only two Adults, you get a lovely but Std. size room. The desk clerk (at checkout) told me and I quote "The staff here LIES" !!! The wine bar is nothing special. Also the hotel is very difficult to find...GPS is useless! 5 stars for the wait and housekeeping staff - they're excellent.The Food also gets 5 stars. If you get Shabbat meals - Friday night dinner was Awesome! On Shabbat day they keep Breakfast running longer for the Shomer Shabbat. The Shabbat lunch is not worth the 140 nis ($34). All meals are buffet style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimonimHotels, Manager at Ruth Rimonim, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
dear Laurie S,

we strive to deliver the best service to all our guests and we apologize for the unfortunate reception clerk comments.
Thank you for your compliments about the meal and the housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your kind comments and the time taken to post them.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,
just let us know when.

regards,
Yulia Fridman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice hotel, minimalist food. Also I emailed special request before but they couldn't deliver. Mark Cohen was particularly rude when I asked for unsweetened cocoa. Too lazy to go get it. Unsympathetic to my request for no sugar. Thereafter rude to me not holding door for me refusing eye contact. Unprofessional letting it get all personal.
Hotel located ten minutes walking to shops, pizza, Breslov & cemetery.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a porch overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimonimHotels, Manager at Ruth Rimonim, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rachel X,

Thank you for your review.
It is very important to us to make sure that every guest will enjoy the stay at our hotel. We do our best to answer all the request of each guest when it is possible. As your request about the unsweetened cocoa was received on Saturday – it was impossible to buy anything as all the shops are closed during Shabbat and we do not have this product in the hotel.
I assure you we will do our best to make sure to correct our mistakes.

Thank you,
Yulia Fridman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Only glitch was at reception when it seemed to take forever to check in, only 2 people on reception desk. Close to main lobby so people were constantly coming by to ask questions thus interrupting our check in process. Passport need to be shown at reception. Once we got our room it was delightful. Quiet, clean, all amenities provided except WiFi. Charge 20 NIS for 2 hours ($7.00) of WiFi use. Did not use because we had heard that their signal was poor. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with great service. Check out was quick and efficient. The people that work there are really courteous. Close to the artist area in the lower town. They have a pool but did not have a chance to use.

Room Tip: Any room is good and they all have great views from your private pation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimonimHotels, Manager at Ruth Rimonim, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Bill M,

It was truly a delight to read your review; Thank you for the kind words and for the time you took to share your wonderful experience at Rimonim Safed hotel.
Glad you had a good time and looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.
your notes were duely noted and we'll take care of it.

with blessing,
Yulia Fridman-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Positive :

- The view from our room of the Merron mt. and the valley below was nice.
- The staff were nice.

Negative :

- Called the front desk to asking to order a massage. was told that i need to speak to the person who books this within the hotel and was told that they would call me back soon. Did not hear back.
- shower was worn down and old, Bathroom door was rotten and had some quick and cheep fix's done to it.
- Breakfast : No Fresh Juice, just some cheep "tang" like drinks.
- Dinner : Soft Drinks cost EXTRA! really? for $640 bucks for 2 nights?
( the Food in general was simple and resembles my office cafeteria more than a Boutique hotel, that the hotel claims to be).
- A room below our windows seemed to be entirely full of Teenagers, which caused a TON of noise until late at night. had to call the front desk twice.
- When Booking the Room, i explained that this is for a couple ( me girl friend) . Not until i got in to the room did i find out that this room had 2 separate ( single) beds that were pushed together. This is extremely uncomfortable. We tried to speak and request something be done ( called the front desk) , were told that the manager would drop by our room, but never heard him or from anyone on the matter.

Do yourself a favor, Spend your money somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you DO decide to Book a room here, and you decide to go with the Mt. Meron Suite , as for a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent two nights here. The location/view are great. Rooms very spacious with great views overlooking the valley below--could open windows for fresh air. It's confusing walking around within the hotel, but if you just walk outside, it's much easier. Very nice pool where we relaxed on day two after checking out but before moving on. Service was not great--they said they'd help with the bags, but didn't; we ordered room service, and it took over an hour to get it, called them to let them know we were leaving the tray (with lots of leftover food) outside the door, but it was still there in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMZWilmette_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and me have been at that hotel for many times, especially at rooms 7 and 9, which are at the old hotel stone building which originally was a khan during the time that the Turkish rule israel more then 100 years ago.
The hotel,gardens are beautiful, and the food is Kosher and good, good swimming pool, and many other extras like massages....

Room Tip: All the rooms at the old hotel part are excellent especially room 9 and 7....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yehuda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
1.0 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#2 of 5 in Safed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Canaan Spa Hotel
Canaan Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Safed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
12.8 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil
Bayit Bagalil
#1 of 70 in Galilee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruth Rimonim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruth Rimonim

Property: Ruth Rimonim
Address: Artist Colony | P.O.Box 1011, Safed 13110, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruth Rimonim 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When arriving at the Ruth Rimonim Hotel, one falls in love: in love with the charming hotel located at the heart of the Artists Colony, facing the breath taking view of Meron Mountain; in love with each of the 78 individually designed rooms, equipped with cable TV, telephone, hairdryer and mini-bar, built carefully to retain the style of the old Turkish Khan from the 17th century; in love with the quaint alleys of Safed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruth Rimonim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruth Rimonim Hotel Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed, Israel - Galilee
Hotel Ruth Rimonim
Rimon Inn
Ruth Rimon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing