We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 39 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited Safed in April, 2012. While Safed itself is a wonderful experience, the hosts, Joy and Even make it so much more. We stayed in the small room and found it to be just right for two people. Joy prepared Shabbat dinner which we enjoyed in the room and set up the room for Shabbat - ie lights, hot water, etc. We enjoyed all our interactions with the family and had a wonderful, insightful tour with Evan. We recommend the Guesthouse to all and certainly look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: More than two travels in a party should consider the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent two nights here on our honeymoon and it was wonderful. Joy and Even were excellent hosts who made us feel like guests in their home. The room was very comfortable and beautiful, right off an intimate courtyard in the Old City of Safed. The building is at least 200 years old, with a stone dome ceiling, arches, and walls painted the sky blue color that is symbolic of the city. However, it looks and feels new. The kitchenette was stocked with fruit, cake, tea, cereal etc. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsichran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in this guesthouse during the Kleizmer festival and loved it. The place is magical: a renovated old house with an inner courtyard, in a very nice part of town - the artist quarter. They rent 2 apartments - each of them was a separate stone house with a domed ceiling. We stayed at the smaller of the two (the other was occupied), and still managed to sleep 4 quite comfortably. The whole place is beautifully renovated with attention to every little detail, exuding a modern and ancient feeling at the same time. The hosts were great - very helpful, but also warm and friendly - we enjoyed talking to them so much that it was hard for us to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank origerstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Sefad is one of the most beautiful,spiritual places in the world and the Artist Quarter Guest House fitted in perfectly with its spirit. The room itself is in a little courtyard and the soaring, ancient stone walls, blue walls and silver candlesticks ready for lighting, felt just right. At the same time, it had good bathroom facilities, a very comfortable bed and a little kitchen nook. The Strauss family took good care of us - filling the fridge with boiled eggs, juice and yoghurt and bringing additional breakfast items in the morning as well. They also made suggestions about what to do and it was clear that they genuinely cared about us. There is ample parking close by, and the Guest House is located close to the main street in Sefad and to the artist's quarter. I cannot recommend this Guest House highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a beautiful place, and in close proximity to Old City of Tzfat. Joy and Evan Strauss couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, and the accommodations included everything one might need to be comfortable, including over Shabbat if one is Shomer Shabbat. My husband and I stayed in the larger of two apartments and it was perhaps a bit more than we wanted to spend, but smaller apartment was not available and we were entirely comfortable and relaxed while in the room. These are LIKE NEW accommodations, in beautiful and interesting (old) architectural spaces.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Joy and Even provided a clean room, at a good location and a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?

You should be aware of the following issues:
* The courtyard is under construction (but they made sure not to make any noise in the morning).
* No TV in room (not an issue for us but it's good to know).

When you consider the location, price and quality of the room these was hardly noticeable. We would strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cow_woC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My parents sent my brother and I on a vacation for a few days in Safed and we couldn't have felt more welcome or more at home! The Strauss' are the nicest people and did everything to ensure our stay was perfect. The room was stunning- a perfectly restored ancient room with tons of charm, a lovely kitchen we ate breakfast in, and a sparkling bathroom. Thank you for taking care of us and we truly recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Safed hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#2 of 5 in Safed
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Azamra inn Tzfat
Azamra inn Tzfat
#4 of 39 in Safed
44 reviews
0 mi away
The Way Inn
The Way Inn
#3 of 39 in Safed
113 reviews
0 mi away
Pelech Harimmon
Pelech Harimmon
#11 of 39 in Safed
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B

Address: Artist Quarter, Old City | Artist Quarter, Old City, Safed 13223, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range: $162 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B is a beautiful kosher bed and breakfast in the heart of the Old City that captures the ancient Tzfat charm while offering the conveniences of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing