We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine place, fine hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 40 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

joy and evan strauss offer a choice of two independent stone guesthouses adjacent to their home. each has a bathroom/shower, kitchen sink, refrigerator, large closet and large sitting/sleeping area. breakfast is provided.

the property is in a quite location, very close to the main tourist area of the old city. joy and evan are helpful and thoughtful hosts and, since safed (tzfat) is a small town, know everyone. this means they can assist you in planning your sightseeing, connect you to locals who share your interests and make sure you know of special events.

evan is an excellent and well-informed local guide, with whom i spent a half-day visiting historically important but out-of-the-way places. joy provides excellent directions, detailed enough so the even i did not get lost.

i recommend the artist quarter guesthouse to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1270robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 239 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

The hosts at the Artist Quarter Guesthouse went out of their way to welcome us, help us find the places we wanted to see, recommend a Synagogue and allow us to stay over for the whole of Shabbat while we waited for the busses to run again. They even made sure we knew where to go to buy enough food to tide us over from Friday afternoon until Saturday night when the restaurants and shops were closed. They are both truly "good" people.

The Guesthouse itself is a newly-restored home, courtyard, suite, and room with kitchenette, all in the Old City. Our stone vaulted room has an adjoining bathroom, large closet a kitchenette, a table and another table and chairs in the courtyard. The accommodation is large, light and pleasant. The paint colour is a beautiful blue, and the Moroccan hanging lamp adds a warm and exotic touch. The hosts leave cereal, fruit, milk, tea, coffee, orange juice and hard-boiled eggs in the room, which has a fridge, so we could have breakfast whenever we liked.

Of all the places we stayed in Israel ~ in Jerusalem, Haifa and Safat, this was the very best.

Room Tip: The suite is large, and the double room is excellent for 2 or 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaShirlery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of our tour guide. The room was a good size and beautifully decorated, with domed ceilings of white stone, arched windows and Moroccan lamps. Add to that a comfy bed, a hot shower and a small kosher kitchen. The lovely owners live next door.

This was the nicest place we stayed in during our two weeks in Israel. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room, which was fantastic. The suite is larger and just as beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowcarnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son especiales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Salomon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank depernob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Safed hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#2 of 5 in Safed
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Artists' Colony Inn
Artists' Colony Inn
#2 of 40 in Safed
385 reviews
0 mi away
Azamra Inn Tzfat - Boutique Zimmers
0.1 mi away
Beit Yosef Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B

Address: Artist Quarter, Old City | Artist Quarter, Old City, Safed 13223, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range: $162 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B is a beautiful kosher bed and breakfast in the heart of the Old City that captures the ancient Tzfat charm while offering the conveniences of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing