We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Memorable Experience!”

The Tzfat Kabbalah Experience
Ranked #7 of 31 things to do in Safed
Attraction details
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Memorable Experience!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I visited Tzfat on a Birthright trip, and it was one of the highlights of the trip! The jewelry made by the artisans was absolutely beautiful, and we all bought many souvenirs. The narrow streets and blue color were quaint, and our visit to Avraham Loewenthal's Kabbalistic art gallery was particularly memorable. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annelise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
734 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Tzfat - Interesting Old City”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

It is an interesting place to visit. There are many secret things to discover like the lower levels of the tourist information center, Ask to use the bathroom and you are directed down the stairs to the lower levels of an obviously old place with lots of history. You will pass a mikvah and other sites on your way to a pair of modern-ish toilets - please leave a donation. Lots of shopping opportunities ( this is a theme in variation throughout the country ) and many art galleries set in the old atmosphere. Add a couple of ancient synagogues and you get the picture.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great For Religious People”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you are a religious Jewish family or interested in Kabbalah then the Old City of Tzfat (Safed) is worth a trip. Otherwise, it is not one of my favorite places in Israel. The new part of the city is uninteresting. The old part of the city has its charms in that it is full of historical character. Jerusalem stone buildings, stone paved alleys and many staircases. We spent time in the covered street full of art galleries, jewelry stores and such. My daughter ended up with a lovely Roman glass bracelet (made by Shalom Sadya) from a store run by a pretty lady formerly from Montreal. The art is mostly religious and not my thing. We had a fun experience walking by a food stall run by a traditional Yemenite man. I'm sorry not to remember his name or the stall's name. However, he is a delight and makes terrific inexpensive wraps from a Yemenite pancake looking thing (I believe it is called Lachuch) in which he puts a variety of yummy goodies. I did not try it because of food allergies but the majority of my extended family ate at least one of them and loved it. He happily posed for photos and put traditional Yemenite hats (which he sells) on several of our heads. There are also fruit stands from which you can choose to get a variety of healthy juices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Israel”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

So much fun. A lovely place. Beautiful artisans wares mingled in with the local Jewish families who live on this hill top. Women, remember to through into your back pack a shawl to cover your shoulders or knees if you wish to enter any of the ancient synagogs. No dress code for men other than head cover of any type. Bring your credit card (yes most vendors accept them) and shop till you drop. Beautiful art work that is a true expression of Israel's best artisans. They will ship the bigger pieces to your home. Please don't pass up the lock Kabbalist artist Avraham Loewenthal. Really interesting man and great resource for information on mystical Kabbala and where else better to learn about it thank the very birthplace of Kabbalah,Tzfat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I just returned from a very long drive to see Tzfat. My daughter saw it while on birthright and could not stop talking about it. I now understand why. It is so unique. The art work is so beautiful. You see jewelry candles paintings statues etc. The 3 synagogues are magical. You can feel it when you walk in. Each one is unique and decorated beautifully. While wandering around the streets steps and hills you pass homes of where people live. It is so unique to see. There are plenty of places to eat. It is not fancy. Dress modest or bring a scarf to cover your shoulders.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tzfat Kabbalah Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Tzfat Kabbalah Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing