We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcoming and creative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HaAri 8

HaAri 8
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Safed
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“welcoming and creative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just visited this restaurant, a family group of 10 with 3 children and a one-yr. old. The staff is exceptionally pleasant and intelligent, and the place itself is quite attractive without being over-done. They have the great idea of a separate children's play-room, with all kinds of game and art materials, where the kids can busy themselves while waiting for the food, or after they finish. Brilliant! Everything was nicely presented, wholesome and tasty. Not overpriced. Nice local wine selection. Children's meals which were no less gourmet than the grownups! It is a bit out of the way from the tourist center, but worth the trouble.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    52
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Deliciousness in Safed (Zefat)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went with my family, a party of ten adults and six kids, and they set up a very long table for us that within minutes was FILLED with the MOST DELICIOUS food! Everything was perfectly cooked and exceptionally prepared. There was more than enough for everyone—we probably over-ordered not knowing how copious the portions were going to be.

Now some people say that Israeli's can be a bit "hard" on tourists (there's been a shared consensus that they don't really have the time for us if we don't speak the language) but you can throw that attitude out the window when you dine at HaAri 8. The people were lovely, attentive, attractive and quick to make suggestions when we gave them puzzled looks.

One of the best aspects of this restaurant is they have a back room somewhere with crafts and projects for the kids so the adults could enjoy ourselves without the cacophony... The kids came back with all sorts of weird necklaces and bracelets and eraser-thingies for us, and it was delightful because they were occupied and engaged. They also loved their food (special menu).

Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GRANTFOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Ample servings and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hungry? Hope so. This place has monster servings of great kosher meat dishes. The smoked eggplant comes with creamy hummus and spicy oil. There is a selection of three lovely toppings (roasted peppers, mushrooms and hummus) served with fresh bread. The pasta dishes are lovely and massive. Ditto the steak sandwich and chicken schnitzel. They make their own Arak, if you're in a party mood. Quick walk from the Artists Colony.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most excellent find in Safed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had two weeks to explore Israel, traveling from Canada, and had a fantastic time everywhere we went. But our experience of Safed was sublime. We were staying in a sweet hotel near the Artists Colony and could have walked out to find some place to dine, rather late, but the girl at the front desk raved about Haari 8 so we took her word and caught a cab over to the other side of the hill. (We could have walked, but, as I mentioned, it was late and we were hungry.) What a terrific find! The atmosphere was enchanting and the food excellent. The owner came and chatted with us in a most friendly fashion, and assisted us in choosing a bottle of local wine that was divine. The bread basket was hot and fresh, the smoked eggplant tahina dish turned my mind right around about eggplant which I'd never liked before, the vegetables and side dishes were tasty and the grilled meat plate was wonderfully tender and juicy. There was more than we could possibly eat, but I wished I'd had a ton more room just to extend the wonderful foody experience. I have indeed fond memories of that evening - this charming place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimnLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were three and had one antricote steak and a mix for two, as the lovely waitress recommended. They gave us way more food on the house than we could eat and it was very nice. Everything includind everything was really good and fresh. We had wine (petite sirah) which emphesized the flavours.
Bottom line - A M A Z I N G !

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dddd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HaAri 8 also viewed

Safed, Galilee
Rosh Pina, Northern District
 
Rosh Pina, Northern District
 

Been to HaAri 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing