We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average - historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Da Leone

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Da Leone
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Safed
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Above average - historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a very good "solid snack" option in a unique city. "Pizza ala Kabbalah" but be aware pepperoni isn't an option......

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GSSATLANTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EASILY top 3 ITALIAN pizza places in all of ISRAEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you like a long trip taking in sights and sounds, occasionally you also want to have a place to enjoy the aroma.

DaLEONE doesn't disappoint as both the traditional Naples recipe which is the basis for its popular thin crust pizza and the newly available whole wheat mini (or family size ) pie are mouth watering and very good.

Having enjoyed Agvania (hebrew for tomato ) with its paper thin crust slices across from the ministry of the interior in JERUSALEM and the very well stocked IL pizzaiolo IN TEL AVIV, its clear that da leone has 1 clear advantage... a family recipe with a great oven.

JERUSALEM'S Agvania dazzles with its convenient eat out only option and surprisingly large portions, and Tel Aviv gives us IL pizzaiolo's massive variety of topping options but neither come close when it comes to plain original or whole wheat slice.

The atmosphere in pizza daLEONE is similar to many NYC brick oven pizzeria's except the price at just 10 shekels for a large slice is a fraction of what pizza places with authentic family recipes charge.

For a special treat try the hyssop and Feta cheese (ZATAR AND GVINA BULGARIT) on your regular slice....simply amazing. Don't be fooled by the 'unappetizing appearance' as one reviewer posted once the pizza flies from the oven to your table you'll understand why the trip was worthwhile.


Having eaten at pizza Da Leone 9 times I've never had to wait more than 2 minutes for a slice or 12 minutes for a pie.

service with a smile, fresh ingredients and a great taste in a relative hurry at a reasonable price makes Pizza Da Leone easily one of the top 3 ITALIAN pizza eateries in all of Israel.

highly recommend you order in advance during the summer months as summer traffic especially in the evenings is packed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sved d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safed, Israel
2 reviews
“the best pizza in safed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

the best pizza in safed/////////////////////////////////

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RUlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not the best pizza in Israel. Probably not even the best in Tzfat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We got into Tzfat on a Saturday night. Hardly anything was open. We settled on a takeaway pizza, despite having serious doubts about the quality (the guy was rolling out the dough with a rolling pin).

It took ages to get the pizza. The toppings weren't what we ordered, but we were too tired, wet and hungry to complain. The pizza tasted like frozen supermarket pizza - quite a feat considering it was made fresh. Oh, and it cost 30% more than a good pizza costs in central London.

Pizza da Leone gets two stars for being open on a Saturday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainbowcarnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Looked bad, didn't stick around”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Based on the Trip Advisor reviews, we thought this pizza place was a destination and made plans to eat there one night in Tzfat. When we got there we were disappointed to see it was a tiny hole in the wall (not that's a good indication of food quality) and the cold pizza on display looked very unappetizing. We're from NY and accustomed to good pizza. I realize that our pizza standards are high, but with what we saw at Pizza Da Leone, we left before ordering. Perhaps it tasted better than it looked, but I certainly wouldn't want others to think this pizza place is worth a special trip.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Da Leone also viewed

Rosh Pina, Northern District
 
Safed, Galilee
 

Been to Pizza Da Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing