We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and Charming.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artists' Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Charming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Jeff and Benay are novices who perform like experts at making guests feel comfortable and
well attended in their inn. We arrived late and Jeff met us out at the street so we would not get lost. They made sure all of our needs were taken care of , including room darkening so we could sleep in on Shabbat. I would never stay anywhere else in Tsfat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
182
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

This small inn is beautiful in every way. The rooms are lovely and the inn has been restored creatively and lovingly by the owners Jeff and Benay. The out door and indoor spaces are charming. The owners, Jeff and Benay added so much to our visit. Talking with them at breakfast, touring Safed with Jeff (he is a licensed guide) provided an understanding of this charming ancient town. Meeting artists, visiting small synagogues, make sure to come to this special town and if you are lucky stay at the Artist Colony Inn and spend a few hours having Jeff take you on a tour. This was our favorite place in Israel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We chose Safed as a base for touring the Upper Galilee and Golan Heights. The Artists' Colony Inn was a fantastic choice, and not just for its beauty and location. Jeff and his son made us feel at home from the minute we arrived until the minute we departed. Jeff's insight and knowledge into the area made him a great tour guide for a day trip through the area. We learned things about Israel and about ourselves. The hospitality and attention to guests rivaled that of a good Jewish mother.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanfuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We've stayed at the Artist Colony Inn twice and probably wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Tzefat. The Inn Keepers, Jeff and Benay can't find enough to do for you. They are truly kind and wide-hearted people who epitomize hospitality and as an added bonus, they're a lot of fun as well. They made wonderful suggestions for places we should visit in the city and arranged for us to meet with artists, teachers and lecturers who they thought would interest us.

The rooms are quite lovely, clean and very stylish. It's almost surprising to see such luxury and modern design in such an ancient city. One of the best parts about the Artist Colony Inn is the breathtaking view of Mount Meron that can be seen from their common balcony in the courtyard or from the private balconies in the two larger rooms.

Finally, the breakfast they offer is absolutely delicious!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Amminadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Artists’ Colony Inn for 3 nights during the “Safed Klezmer Festival” August 2010.
The place is relatively new, operating a little over a year, providing a superb hospitality. I hope it keeps the same quality level in the coming years.
There are only four (different) spacious rooms. Each has it own structure, decoration and character.
The “Lobby” constitutes the hub of "action". A rich and delicious breakfast is served there. You can eat it inside or on the balcony. Coffee / tea, pastry, chocolate and fresh fruits are served (free of charge) all day long. This is also the place where you can meet the owners Jeff Katz and his wife Benay. This charming couple would assist you with a helpful advice about Safed, and give you the feeling that after a day or two you are almost a friend.
Location wise, you couldn't wish for a better place. It is situated within a walking distance from every attraction in Safed.
The only disadvantage is a lack of a private parking. This turns out to be a non-issue during the year, but during the Klezmer Festival it was a problem upon our arrival. However, on the first day we managed to find a nearby pay parking spot and a free parking space even closer to the hotel on the next day onwards.
I would also recommend to place in the "lobby" a computer for a free Internet station.

In summary – there are not many places like Artists’ Colony Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Talmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Loved every moment of our stay at Artists Colony Inn. All of the rooms are charming and very tastefully decorated. The beds are very comfortable. The courtyard is a relaxing place to eat Benay's wonderful breakfasts. Jeff toured us around Galilee and the Golan, which was a delight. We wished we could have stayed longer. We will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Jef and Benay are such welcoming and helpful hosts and have created a beautiful and tasteful haven in the heart of Sfat. The rooms are very comfortable with the jacuzzi coming in handy after a long day walking the interesting streets of Sfat.

This is a gem of a guest house and anybody who stays here won't be dissapointed.

We had the most relaxing, interesting and enjoyable weekend.
This is a perfect place to explore Sfat and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerschelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.2 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#2 of 5 in Safed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
13.5 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.0 mi away
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing