We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artists' Colony Inn
Nearby Hotels
Ruth Rimonim Safed(Safed)(Great Value!)
$153
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$250
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamtime Amirim Guest-house(Amirim)(Great Value!)
$132
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
369
18
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
18
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfrench toastthe managersplace to staywonderful hostsmemorable experienceguided tourold citybreakfast was deliciousshakshukagolan heightsa special placeinteresting peopleoverlooking the mountainsnorthern israelstone wallsstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 391 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was visiting Israel and decided to travel up north and visit the local wineries.
What a wonderful coincidence that this No.1 B&B is right there.
I stayed at the Inn for two nights and loved very single moment there! Wonderful managers! Wonderful location!
Breakfast was a real treat and complementary Nespresso!! Could I ask for more???

The wineries are wonderful and I highly recommend taking a day or two and driving around the Galil and the Golan heights and just enjoy the view and great wine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our experience at Artists' Colony Inn in Safed was marvelous. We stayed in the Avital room, a very large room, which was clean, warm and inviting. It was appointed in exceptionally fine taste. Everything about the Inn was beyond what we had expected-- from the plentiful and delicious Israeli breakfast to the awesome views in the courtyard where we sat and relaxed, just taking in the breathless views. It was a real treat after touring the city to come back to this wonderful inn and sit and talk with our hosts who were gracious and could not do enough for us. Five Star is the only way we can describe our time at the Artists' Colony Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay3and3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

After reading all the positive reviews we were really looking forward to our stay at the artist colony in and all I can say is how incredibly disappointed we were. The bathroom had mold and mildew growing on the walls and the entire room had a dank musty odor and feel. There was a wall heater that just did not warm the room. How can a bathroom have the equivalent of a hand held mirror that was barely large enough for just one person to use? Fresh slippers? No, they looked as if they were recycled. A great breakfast? That too was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanova, Owner at Artists' Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Shalom, since opening in 2009, this is our first negative review out of the thousands of guests we have had and we are very sorry that you were disappointed. Our guests’ positive experiences and comfort are very important to us. We are also sorry that we could not accommodate you with a tour of the city as you had arrived much later than the time you had booked the tour.
As for your comments, we are sorry you didn’t point these out during your stay so we could address them. We could not find any mold and mildew growing on the walls. We are very sensitive to this and as any inn keeper, we clean and paint many times during the year. Our rooms feature walls of stone with high arched ceilings which give a totally different feel from your standard hotel room. As for the size of the mirror in the bathroom, you are the first guests to mention this. However, we will take this into consideration. It is most definitely our policy to provide new slippers and amenities for every guest. We never recycle slippers! They go straight to the trash. We do, however, donate unused liquid soaps, shampoos, conditioners and lotions. And lastly, as to breakfast, we ask every guest about their preferences, dietary issues and allergies and we happily accommodate every single request. Here again, you are the first guests to complain about the breakfast since our opening.
Again, we are sorry your stay with us was not the memorable experience we strive to provide for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night during our travels north. The room were clean and really nicely fitted out.
The husband and wife team that run the place were very hospitable. The breakfast was amazing. I would love to come back and spend more time. Safed is an amazing little place

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Safed is medieval-like maze of a city with a big cobblestoned area dedicated to artists and Kabbalists or both. To make yourself comfortable here, and have the help you need to enjoy the ancient city, stay at the Artist's Colony Inn run by Danny and Susan. Danny is a supremely good-natured tower of a man who seems to enjoy carring your heavy bags up the steps. He is loaded with good advice, interesting observations, and relishes in telling jokes and pointing out ironies. Susan has a persistent and infectious smile as she tends to your every need, cooks awesome meals (including home-made granola), and looks after her two teenagers. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished and there is convenient parking. If you need more rooms for a larger family, they are happy to find you a nice room with a few steps of the Inn. We scored bigtime by finding the Artists Colonly Inn.

Room Tip: Stay in the large room off the reception area which has a private entrance.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teknozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews