We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful stay in Tzfad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful stay in Tzfad”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile


We stayed at the beautiful Artist' Colony Inn hotel of Tzfad for three days this week of Sukkot. The rooms are beautiful, the service excellent, and above all the friendliness of Benai and Jeff, owners of the hotel. They are always willing to advise and walk around the area, and how can you enjoy the stay in this beautiful area. In conclusion, a great experience and for sure we will be visiting and staying at the hotel and back to meet Benay and Jeff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
190
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a wonderful, friendly woman named Susan. She was great, just to put that out there.

Parking was easy. Breakfast was extraordinary- made by Susan. Very talented. Rooms were clean and super funky. Only downfall was the the shower was in the room...and that was a little tricky to figure out.

On the last day out of trip the door broke and we had trouble getting into the room. Susan had to call for help because no one could open it.

Ultimately, it was a lovely experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Agree with all the good reviews. Safed has become a hippy religious town and Danny and Susan who run the hotel fit in very well. She took us on a walking tour which was good fun and also provided a very good breakfast.He is the general manager who is very helful when you need him (as long as he is not praying!).
We stayed 4 nights and also did a guided tour of the Lebanese and Syrian border with Geoff (the owner).
Visited in August when Israel is very hot but Safed is cooler due to the altitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place is fabulous. The rooms are beautifilly decorated and comfortable. Every detail thought of. Architecturally gorgeous. Friendly people central to the city centre. Visit if you can. Breakfast made freshly in the morning. Only 5 rooms all lovely. Parking difficult. Lovely balconies and outside terraces. We all loved it there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent a night at the Inn during the Klezmer Festival. It was very comfortable, clean and charming. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the courtyard is delightful to sit and relax in. The location was very convenient to the artist's shops, the historical sites and the music venues. Danny and Susan are wonderful hosts. Susan put out a delicious breakfast and Danny provided interesting stories and helpful advice and when it was time to leave, he sent us on our way with a bunch of grapes that he picked from his vines. While there, Danny informed us that for guests staying over Shabbat, they will invite you for dinner if needed. We would love to stay at the Inn again and take him up on this offer to experience Shabbat in Szfat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here to attend a Bar Mitvah In Safed and met wonderful people and was very comfortable in a room that had every 21st Century amenity in a charming 19th Century
setting. Our hosts Danny and Susan are lovely people who were there to assist and
cook and be spiritual advisers and they made this getaway very memorable. It is a
short walk to town and to the Artist Colony. I will always remember this trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank befeine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the most amazing room with private courtyard.

Danny and Susan were very good hosts - a selection of fruit and other goodies was available throughout the day at no additional cost and breakfast was very good.

Danny in particular was very happy to spend time helping us with our itinerary for our day trip to the Golan Heights and was happy to offer whatever assistance we required during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#3 of 5 in Safed
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
12.9 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
3.8 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing