We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A very special find”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place is fabulous. The rooms are beautifilly decorated and comfortable. Every detail thought of. Architecturally gorgeous. Friendly people central to the city centre. Visit if you can. Breakfast made freshly in the morning. Only 5 rooms all lovely. Parking difficult. Lovely balconies and outside terraces. We all loved it there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
192
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent a night at the Inn during the Klezmer Festival. It was very comfortable, clean and charming. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the courtyard is delightful to sit and relax in. The location was very convenient to the artist's shops, the historical sites and the music venues. Danny and Susan are wonderful hosts. Susan put out a delicious breakfast and Danny provided interesting stories and helpful advice and when it was time to leave, he sent us on our way with a bunch of grapes that he picked from his vines. While there, Danny informed us that for guests staying over Shabbat, they will invite you for dinner if needed. We would love to stay at the Inn again and take him up on this offer to experience Shabbat in Szfat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here to attend a Bar Mitvah In Safed and met wonderful people and was very comfortable in a room that had every 21st Century amenity in a charming 19th Century
setting. Our hosts Danny and Susan are lovely people who were there to assist and
cook and be spiritual advisers and they made this getaway very memorable. It is a
short walk to town and to the Artist Colony. I will always remember this trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank befeine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the most amazing room with private courtyard.

Danny and Susan were very good hosts - a selection of fruit and other goodies was available throughout the day at no additional cost and breakfast was very good.

Danny in particular was very happy to spend time helping us with our itinerary for our day trip to the Golan Heights and was happy to offer whatever assistance we required during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

When you enter this beautifully restored stone B&B, you will be eagerly and graciously greeted by a very hospitable couple (Danny and Susan) who take great pleasure in ensuring that you have a wonderful stay. From an assortment of teas, fresh and dried fruit, and other delectables available 24 hours a day, with breakfast delivered according to your schedule, you will enjoy as much or as little conversation as you wish, but you will get many and diverse (religious, secular, and neither!) tips for where to explore. (And if you are really in luck, you might even get door to door service for a fabulous hike!!) Our room looked exactly like the photo. Very nicely appointed, clean, comfortable, and great A/C! No better location as well. Be sure to have breakfast sitting high up overlooking the valley. We have stayed elsewhere in Tzfat, now we know there is no better place.
Thank you Susan and Danny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here for our 30th wedding anniversary. The Inn is in a old renovated building that has funky different levels with interesting arches, nokes and . passageways. There were grapevines growing on pergolas all over the place, and at the end of July when were were there, the vines were bursting with clusters of delicious table grapes that we picked and ate while we looked over the view of Mount Meron in the distance. Also though the days were hot, the evening were cool, crisp and wonderful.
The Inn is right near the old city and you can walk everywhere.
Our room was small but pleasant, and most important the bed was extremely comfortable.
The only downside was that the shower - bath (or mini jacuzzi) was in the bedroom. So when I came back from my early morning jog I couldn't shower without waking up my husband.
Perhaps some of the rooms have separate bathrooms.

Room Tip: Find out if you can get a room with a separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaifaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

this Inn was very sweet. The manager Danny and his wife Susan were gracious, hospitable and very helpful. The room was very beautiful with the flavor of Israel. The only complaint was that the room opened into the courtyard and we had to keep our windows closed so to have privacy. The deck overlooking Safed was a very nice place to kick back, have a glass of wine and watch the sunset. I highly recommend this Inn!

Room Tip: ask for a room not open to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yehudit1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim Safed
Ruth Rimonim Safed
#1 of 5 in Safed
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#4 of 5 in Safed
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
3.8 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Way Inn
The Way Inn
#3 of 37 in Safed
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing