We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place with a great atmosphere and with a very positive energy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A pleasant place with a great atmosphere and with a very positive energy!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I came for a weekend to rest and to have a quiet time together. The Artists Colony was an excellent choice!
Susan and David are Wonderful hosts who made us feel at home immidiatly! The place has a very pleasant atmosphere with a very positive energy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
189
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had been travelling for nearly 2 weeks in Israel and were on the last stage of our trip. We looked up the reviews on Trip Advisor and chose this lovely looking Inn which had rave reviews. Booked via internet and headed off from Haifa. Arrived into Safed after dark which was a mistake as finding the inn proved to be quite difficult even with the GPS. Eventually found the place with a lot of help from the locals (we found all of Israel really friendly) and finally met Susan and Danny the new ex pat Canadian owners of the Inn. Susan had e-mailed detailed instructions on how to find the Inn but we didn't have access to e-mails at that stage. So make sure you arrive before dark.
Susan and Danny couldn't have been more helpful [even by Canadian standards ;-)]) and even invited us to join them and their family for Shabbat, it being a Friday evening. We were pleased to have had a late lunch as food is not easy to find on a Friday night in Safad.
The room we were allocated was really comfortable, clean and well appointed. The views across the valley are stunning. The provision of a communal breakfast/sitting area is a great place to meet other guests.
The breakfasts are fantastic and it seems nothing is too much trouble for these wonderful hosts. The location of the Inn is quite close to the galleries and we ended up buying a lovely painting to take home as a reminder of the wonderful time we had in Israel.
I highly recommend this place to stay and use as a base for exploring the region.
Thanks Susan and Danny. Have fun in your new home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVinOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hosts at this gorgeous Inn made us feel pampered and very welcome. Very cozy to hang out in the lounge with yummy snacks in the evening and meet other guests. Breakfasts are made to order and delicious. Rooms are truly beautiful and designed to complement the architecture. of the Inn and city. Walking distance to the artist quarters. HIghly recommend this property for a special stay in Israel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

All of the staff were just sooo amazingly helpful. It is such a cosy place with just the 4 rooms and well positioned. Everyone will enjoy their stay here !!! Just be prepared that if you are here on a friday, very little is open for food. Thanks Susan and Danny.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poonchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is an oasis of beauty and hospitality that I would very strongly recommend and would definitely go back to. The hospitality of my hostess and host, Susan and Danny was outstanding. They showed me around their beautiful city (Sefat) and even went as far as to take me on a magnificent 3 hour hike...truly a highlite of my visit to Israel. Every morning, there was a gourmet breakfast waiting for me. I would often meet other travellers at breakfast and the warm atmosphere made them seem more like old friends rather than new acquaintances . My room and amenities were 1st rate. The views from the balconies at the Artist Colony were breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allans155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Susan and Daniel are the Toronto ex-pats who manage this B&B and Susan will tell you that Safed is a simple town until it isn't. Which explains why it took forever to find this place, despite Google maps and a helpful gallery owner.

But the search is worth it. This tiny inn is a short stroll to the lovely Artists Quarter and its gorgeous galleries. The rooms are huge, comfortable, well-appointed and, in a few cases, have private balconies ( ours was actually a courtyard). The bathroom is enormous and well stocked with fluffy towels and robes.

There is a small lobby with jazz on the radio and a few bottles, if you are inclined. Your hosts are happy to recommend a restaurant, discuss itineraries or just shoot the breeze. Breakfast is massive and more or less made to order. Canadians will be cheered by the sight of maple syrup beside thick french toast.

This is an absolute gem and worth staying a few nights while you explore the north.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent one night in Safed at this most luxurious inn. The accommodations were beautiful. The hospitality of the innkeepers was the best we have ever experienced. All interactions were gracious and with a big smile. We look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 mi away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#3 of 5 in Safed
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
12.9 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
3.8 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing