We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere, beautifu place, good food, expensive”
Review of Babait Shel Rafa

Babait Shel Rafa
Ranked #24 of 35 Restaurants in Rosh Pina
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
300 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, beautifu place, good food, expensive”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

beautifully located in the old and authentic Rosh Pina, this is a special place. it's a hidden gem between the old houses of the founders, a special ambience lies on this place, the service is friendly (so are the cats and dogs if you sit outside which is nicer than the inside but depends on the weather) and proffessional, no problem in this matter. the menu of the main dishes is limited mainly to meat (good but not excellent), the first dishes are nice and interesting (good house salad, empanadas, patte) and since the main dishes are around meat and expensive you can easily have a selection of first dishes and enjoy. they know how to handle drinks (wine, beer and the real stuff) but selection is limited and includes mainly standards. they can improve on these 2 issues: drinks and main course selection and offer some less expensive mains, but all and all you can enjoy the place and the atmosphere is worth it. i will be back and i do recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a very unique vibe to it. The entire amosphere is very non-commercial in a refreshing way. The place is beautiful, an the food is very nice. We had the only veg dish which was nice, and the great fish. The Empanadas for starters were very authentic and worth a try! This is a place to go to when you are looking for something new and interesting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmel274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but a bit expensive”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a dinner at the restaurant on a Friday evening. The food was a good Argentinian food adapted to Israeli taste (or so it seems). The first and main course were very good, the wine was also good, the dessert was nice. The meal was a bit overpriced though.
I liked sitting outside, as the weather was good and the atmosphere was very nice and romantic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SatlanSatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food, very nice atmosphere (outside)”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Rafa's was our best meal in the north, and I think it was the best chicken I've ever had in my entire life! We sat outdoors, which was really lovely. The inside looked a bit depressing. Our server was friendly and competent. We were visited by a number of the local dogs and cats, which we actually liked but others may not. (The server would have shooed them away if we let him.) We started the evening at the bar across the alley (Tangerine), and it was an altogether lovely experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
198 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice for a big family dinner”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We came to Rafa's with more than 15 people. It is the hills of Rosh Pina up a quiet driveway. Our meal was part of a inclusive package included with our tour so it is not possible for me to comment on value. But the ambiance was great. We were in a private room made of stone w/stucco and nicely decorated. The food emphasized stews and turnovers. Everything was excellent and there was far more food than my group could consume. It was a fun and festive night. Driving through Rosh Pina it looked like there were other restaurants that would be good as well, but for our group it was a great local meal in the region.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glbtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babait Shel Rafa also viewed

Rosh Pina, Northern District
Rosh Pina, Northern District
 
Rosh Pina, Northern District
Rosh Pina, Northern District
 

Been to Babait Shel Rafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing