We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The king of the hostels all over Israel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Ranked #1 of 15 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Amazing place!!! The most beautiful hostel I have ever seen... And also the passwords in this place are Hospitality and Cleanliness and the location is perfect to see all you have to see in Nazareth! Don't miss it!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simobertol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

The Fauzi Azar was great from the first moment! When I arrived they offered tea and showed me around the fully stocked (with spices and cookware) kitchen. The house is beautiful and the staff was so helpful. I made dinner in the kitchen every night. They give you one free breakfast for every three nights you stay there. There is also a tour for 12 NIS (about $3) which doesn't take you to any of the major sites but instead takes you to the behind the scenes Nazareth! Its also a great place to start the Jesus trail!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTesta09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Punch the Fauzi Azar in your GPS and it will take you and your rental car up streets it seems you may never get out of. I was just thankful it showed up!

Actually, if you've done much traveling in Israel you realize that anytime you're in the "Old City" (in almost every town) you're dealing with narrow/winding roads. The Fauzi Azar has an arrangement with a parking garage that's 5 minute walk from the Inn. Routes to the Inn are well marked, but you're walking uphill most of the way. This is a great backpackers location, close to the Jesus Trail and the best of Nazareth.

The Fauzi Azar folks greeted us (even helped us carry bags from the car) warmly, even though the temperatures were very cold. There are a few heaters, but not enough to take a chill off completely. They had nice heavy blankets, comfy beds and a hot shower (again, the toilets and common rooms were chilly, even if the water was hot). The kitchen was great, with everything we needed to handle meals we had on our own.

The best part of the Inn was proximityl to our interests... just steps away from the Nazareth market shops, the starting place of the City Tour and foundation location for the Jesus Trail. Unlike our experiences in Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, people in Nazareth were friendly and helpful. The Fauzi Azar was a perfect example of that. Our special thanks go to Linda... tour guide and trail enthusiast... for the spark that warmed our hearts.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeaceProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

My husband and I were so delighted to stay at the Fauzi Azar inn. The place is so original, with high ornate ceilings, a lovely common area, a traditional entrance and huge courtyard. The hospitality was wonderful - we were greeted with a very warm welcome and a cup of tea and cake. If you're going to go to Nazareth, stay here! It is ideally located in the old town and is owned by a family who have converted their grandparents lovely old home into a guest house for travellers. You could feel the warmth of the place! The breakfast was lovely - traditional (arabic?) mediterranean. Rooms clean and comfortable. Common kitchen if you feel like making your own meal or having a cup of tea.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiblicalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

This is the type of hotel that you stay in because of its personality and location. The hotel is down an alley in a very old part of Nazareth. It attracts a very interesting group of people and is a delightful change from modern hotels. The courtyard and the ceilings were a prime attraction for me, but it is a very unique place and well worth the effort it takes to locate it. Its hard-working and enthusiastic staff guides you in, gives you Turkish coffee and sweets and helps you with anything you need.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

me and my wife spend two nights here in winter time. room was nice (own wc) and place also. we noticed that there was a little bit cold, and that there was no warming at all! -second night we had when i say about it.
but the most negative side was that the place was too expensive thinking the level of living. 80e per couple room per night in cold room. it`s was really a experience:). and there was no breakfast at all in this price!

but i can recommend this place for backpackers. big rooms are nice and cheep, but i can`t recommend to couples.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The Fauzi Azar Inn is a converted 1800’s residence of a prominent Arab by the same name in the middle of Nazareth’s Old City. Nazareth’s Old City is a quaint district with 8-10 foot wide stone streets and hundreds of small 10 by 20 foot shops. The converted residence resembles a duplex with an interior courtyard shared with another family [there is no backyard or front yard]. Fauzi occupies an upper and lower level with a mixture of bunk rooms [for backpackers], rooms with 4-6 single beds, and double rooms with private toilet and shower. Otherwise, the bathrooms are communal. Fauzi also has an upstairs common room [which serves as front desk area], a communal kitchen, and a large dining area which is a converted 30x30 foot storefront.

Our room -- #5 – was one of the double rooms with private toilet. It was about 10 x 15 foot in size with a 20+ foot ceiling. The room had a king bed [actually two twins pushed together] and a few hooks to hang clothes. The floor was rust red ceramic tile most of which were cracked and broken; repairs were made with cement painted a matching color. There was one small 25W incandescent light plus two bare fluorescents half way up the wall. There was no dresser, no phone, no TV. The bathroom was furnished in a similar Spartan manner; fortunately it functioned fine. We later learned that room #5 was originally the servants’ quarters for the Arab family. The two least pleasant things about the room were the noise and temperature. Every evening the room was warm. That meant we had to go to bed with windows open. Keeping windows open meant all the city noises – dogs barking in adjacent houses at Midnight, 4AM; the random shouting match between locals; mystic morning and evening prayers from Moslem mosques including the regularly scheduled 4:30 AM blast; chanting; and the daily 5AM streets cleanup – make getting a good nights sleep a challenge.

The Fauzi Azar Inn also left an uncomfortable impression about cleanliness. City sewer smells float by. The shared courtyard with the neighbor family meant compromises in tidiness, keeping things picked up, and cleanliness. The broken tile and cement floor in room #5 made bare feet feel dusty and dirty. The furnishings in the upstairs common room and communal kitchen were ‘tired’. Painters used no care when coating adjoining surfaces in different colors – with a terrible looking result. All these impressions taken together created the impression of 3rd world cleanliness which was not expected in a progressive country like Israel. To be fair, I looked for sand and dust-balls in corners and could not find any. And I looked in the rooms with 4-6 single beds and found them to be bright, well ventilated, with floors in much better condition. So the Fauzi Azar is perhaps much cleaner than the impression it can create. Still, we did not feel the property is as nice as the impression left from the internet pictures. And the property very much has the feel of a struggling Hostel.

If using a rental car for a tour of Israel, beware you cannot drive to the Fauzi Azar.
DO NOT EVEN TRY. The streets are just too narrow and in some places there are stair steps built into the entire road. The whole old city neighborhood. was built for another age [actually, the location of the ‘roads’ are donkey tracks on the hillside’. One has to leave the rental car at a designated spot and walk about 5 min to the Fauzi Azar. I don’t recall seeing this when we looked through the website and made our booking. Plus, the map that’s on the website is totally inadequate for locating the designated parking spot. One needs to call Fauzi Azar from Nazarath with a good map in hand and have them provide explicit directions. As a walk, it’s not bad and during 8 trips we made we were hustled only once. However, Nazareth can be a rough city and the inconvenience of problems with a rental car can mean a lost vacation day. The first night we were there the rental car parked next to us was broken into. So for our 2nd and 3rd nights we moved our car to less convenient locked underground parking and paid 30Shekles [about $10] per night.

The Fauzi Azar staff is quite helpful. We at least 5 north americans who work there part time on what seem to be 3-6-9 month engagements. It was certainly comforting to have people around who share the same underlying upbringing and values. We also met the great grand daughter of the prominent Fauzi Azar who is the overall manager.

Breakfast can be purchased on the premises for 30Shekles [about $10] and is well worth the convenience. Breakfast is cooked by Fauzi Azar’s grand daughter [a women in her 50’s] and she prepares an excellent meal complimented by her happy character. We were surprised at how few guests took advantage of the opportunity. There is no dinner restaurant at Fauzi Azar. A number of guests chose to cook in the communal kitchen. Others walk about 8 minutes to a small area with a number of restaurants where dinner for two averaged $40 to $50 [tax and tip included, drinks extra].

Fauzi Azar has free wireless internet and it works incredibly well. It was speedy and robust. We very much appreciated this amenity. The hot water at Fauzi Azar was also plentiful. However as is common in older buildings, the temperature goes up and down depending on total number of users.

In rural Nepal we stayed in places very similar in character, comfort, and amenities for $10/night hotel room. In Nazareth the cost is $125/night room. Despite the inconveniences and the questionable price/value, we quite enjoyed our stay and would return again w/o hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nazareth
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#2 of 14 in Nazareth
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#4 of 14 in Nazareth
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 15 in Nazareth
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels

Address: Old City, Nazareth 16125, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range: $41 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fauzi Azar Inn is the best starting-off point for touring the Galilee & Nazareth. The Inn is a 200 years Arab Mansion located at the heart of the market quarters of Nazareth, a short distance from the Central Bus Station and the Basilica of the Annunciation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fauzi Azar Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing