We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Nearby Hotels
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabar Hotel(Nazareth)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
$181
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Nazareth(Nazareth)
$207
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$154
$141
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nof Tavor Hotel(Nazareth)
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveler rating
895
227
51
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
895
227
51
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tourjesus trailcakeold cityprivate roomwalking tourbeautiful hostelottoman mansionbed dormlocal communityunique placeevery morningtour guideold houseother travelersarabic breakfasthigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Staying in a 200-year old Ottoman mansion inside the Old City of Nazareth is a special experience. There is a long walk, with stairs, through narrow ancient streets of the Old City to arrive at the oasis of Fauzi Araz. You will need to porter your own luggage. There are stairs and no lift, so be in reasonable physical condition. The courtyard oozes with charm and history and the room we were in was large with ceilings that must be 18' high. It is very quiet, and the heating worked well. You may hear a call to prayer, along with church bells ringing--an unusual experience. Hot water was supplied by instant heating, so you had it quickly and all you wanted. Wifi is free and strong. The staff is very pleasant and helpful although we didn't use them much as we were up and off each day to see the Galilee region. The Arabic breakfast is very good and well served by a very pleasant staff. It's a short distance to several very good restaurants. Staying here will give you a real sense of Nazareth and Israel that the tourist hotels cannot provide. It's a great place to stay. I'll be back if I am this way again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pactola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for one night with our 3 children in a basic but comfortable room in this reborn old mansion, during our 'speedy' one week tour of Israel. More than just a nice place to stay, the very nice initiative of the Inn to offer a glance into the history of the house (and of the country) and a tour of the old city (a must!) with one of the volunteers at the Inn makes the stay at Fauzi Azar Inn a very special experience! It made us appreciate the city differently and get some understanding of the complex societal relations in Israel (something that appears to be always on the background, but never really much spoken about). Staff was friendly and the breakfast very good. Definitely worth a longer stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My boyfriend, parents and I stayed at Fauzi Azar for two night and loved it. It has an old-world feel (it is in an old mansion and surrounding courtyard) but has all the necessary modern comforts (like hair dryers in the bathrooms.) The rooms weren't luxurious but had everything we needed. I think charming is an appropriate description.

The staff was helpful, the breakfast was pretty good, and the location was great. It's in the center of Nazareth's Old City which is great for wandering around. The only downsides are 1) lugging your suitcases through the stairs of the Old City to get there and 2) that the nearest grocery store is a bit (but not long) of a walk. (The store doesn't sell fruit so make sure you pick those up in the Old City during the day before 3pm when it closes.) The kitchen was fully equipped with a fridge, microwave, and you could buy water, beer, etc. which was great. There are also nice common areas. The arches and old architecture give the place so much charm.

I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The building is absolutely beautiful, very quiet and relaxing, the rooms are clean, with very comfy beds, and over hundred years old paintings on the ceiling! The hotel is located in the heart of the Old City, very close to the most important sights, the lovely staff welcomes you with a tea ( and there is a big choice of tea! ) coffee, fresh fruits and homemade cake… If that's not enough the breakfast is definitely the best I had seen and eaten in any hostel or hotel in my life! with local dishes ( shakshuka, za'tar bread, lebaneh….) plenty of options, fresh fruits and sweet treats! There is a very well equipped kitchen for the use of the guests, wifi works great, and it is a great place to meet other travellers, while there are many nice areas to hang out together! there is a walking tour free for everyone every morning, where you will get to know a bit of the history of the city, see its nowadays life, and try an amazing cinnamon walnut drink! To finish the hostel is run by lovely people who are travellers themselves, they dreamt about having their own guesthouse, and they did an amazing job!!! 100% recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatLovesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Interesting Place with lots of character. Nice staff. Excellent breakfast. If I ever go back I will stay longer.

Nazareth is a maze so it can be a bit difficult to locate at first but once you get past that its a great spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dls251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews