We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Ranked #1 of 15 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
1 review
“we will return”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were looking for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of Tel Aviv and the Fauzi Azar inn in Nazareth was a great choice.
The double room we stayed in was great value for money, nice view to the old city and to the yard.
The story told by Souraida the granddaughter of the owner Fauzi Azar before the free tour, was moving and to us as Israelis put things into a different prospective.
The staff was very nice and helpful! We will recommend staying there and visiting Nazareth to our friends in Tel Aviv it’s a great experience to feel away from "Israel" 1 hour drive from Tel Aviv We will return for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    197
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
155
271
265
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is all about hospitality and affordability: free tour of Nazareth, free cake and coffee all day long, great breakfast, beautiful establisment, affordable. Great experience. You can either share a room with fellow travellers or get your own room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellabashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Fauzi Azar Inn on our 2nd night in Israel with my parents on their first ever visit. After a little walk to find the signs, we found the very small door and I'm sure my parents thought I was crazy, but when we walked through it was breathtaking! Very friendly staff, we were shown our rooms and settled in well. It's a shame we were only able to stay just one night, as it truly is a gorgeous place.

We went on the free tour in the next morning and the hotel staff allowed us to keep our luggage in the hotel while we took part. The tour started with a personal introduction from the granddaughter of the original owner. It really set the scene and explained the reasons for starting the Inn and was an example of good Israeli and Palestinian collaboration to bring such a beautiful house back to life and made it such a privilege to stay. The painted ceilings were stunning and all the history of the house really helped to gain an understanding of the city.
We continued on the free tour, and were guided by Linda, from Michigan, who is very passionate and has a real love for the city, however, we did feel that elements of the tour were quite flimsy in their provenance and it became embarrassing to be quickly taken through restaurants where people were eating, to quickly look at allegedly ottoman tiled floors! There was continual promotion of an orphanage charity which we are sure does good work, but we didn't need to be reminded of this continuously at every stop. It would have been better to be made aware at the beginning that the tour was conducted for donation to a charity which we would have happily made, however the tour became less about Nazareth and more about who supported the charity. It also ran on considerably longer than anticipated.

We would love to stay at Fauzi Azar again and will be recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I intended a one night stop before trekking The Jesus Trail...and I stayed for 3 nights! That could say it all? But I would be short changing these guys if I didn't tell you about the beautiful pillared court yard, the ad lib coffee and home baked cake, the bottomless fruit bowl, the friendly family feel, the history, the clean cosy dorms, the quaint old town location, the knockout breakfast, the brilliant volunteer staff.... and if this is not enough to persuade you to STOP OVER in Nazareth (don't settle for a day trip from Jerusalem - Nazareth needs you! You need Nazareth!)...if you are not yet persuaded, let me tell you about the free tour! The lovely Linda meets and greets you and whips you off on a whirlwind tour of back alleys, spice markets, coffee corners, backgammon bars, and of course..a carpenter in Nazareth!

Hostel?? This was a mere hostel!! Exceedingly exceeded my expectations! THANK YOU FAUZI AZAR ! xxx You fed me, fuelled me, friended me, fired me up and then pointed me in the right direction to follow in the footsteps of my Lord!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nazareth seemed not the place to be.. We were not looking for privacy, we were not looking for a hot tub, we were not looking for a really exclusive hostel.. But we found warmth, a beautiful family story, friendly volunteers, a really great kitchen, amazing old house, nice breakfast, free cakes/fruits and the feeling of being part of all that instead of being a visitor: the best hostel ever!!! Toda raba :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie-vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fauzi Azar as our first experience in Israel. While it was difficult to get to and we did carry our luggage up some steps, upon reaching the front we were charmed. We found reception up the first steps and were shown to our room and helped with our luggage. The room was very nice but had some old world charm, just what we were looking for. We were shown about the timer for the water heater. Breakfast was good, with good variety. All the staff were very kind. We thoroughly enjoyed learning the history of Fauzi Azar inn from the manager and would highly recommend you ask her to tell you. Overall, we have no complaints. I give this 5 stars not because it is a 5 star hotel, but it was a 5 star experience, if you already know you aren't staying at a Hilton.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cmw1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have visited this place twice and every time it was like a miracle. From the narrow stony streets of old city you get to the calmest and magical places in the world. This is a unexpected combination of old Arab house with a green patio, gold fishes pool, hight ceilings with frescos and muazin.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
0.1 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 15 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels

Property: Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Address: Old City, Nazareth 16125, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fauzi Azar Inn is the best starting-off point for touring the Galilee & Nazareth. The Inn is a 200 years Arab Mansion located at the heart of the market quarters of Nazareth, a short distance from the Central Bus Station and the Basilica of the Annunciation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fauzi Azar Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing