We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel but an average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Ranked #1 of 14 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hostel but an average hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Fauzi Azar Inn as a guest of the hotel - not in the hostel rooms. As a hostel, I would have given it 4 stars as the basics (reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was basic but comfortable (with aircon), and the wifi was freely available). The hotel is an old Ottoman house built around a courtyard, which makes it very atmospheric and beuatiful but quite noisy! The whole place is in a rather sorry state of repair, with some rooms (not open to guests) lacking a roof or glass in the window! The breakfast was standard with poor coffee but excellent cakes. And the easy access kitchen with free cake and tea/coffee was a lovely touch. The hostel side of things seemed better organised - with readily available washing machines, nice communal showers, etc. I just found the hotel side slightly lacking - for example, I was not expecting to have to do my own washing up, which I would have been happy to do in a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lidzmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    206
    46
    14
    11
See reviews for
168
280
284
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The fauzi azar in is an incredibly beautiful place in the heart of Nazareth. It was a restored family home which really gives it a unique feel, it is definitely different from the typical hostel chains. In the morning a very good large breakfast was provided and their was free cake and ice water throughout the day.

Don't do the free tour of you just want to see the churches and touristy places. It takes you around the heart of Nazareth showing you local places, allowing you to taste local food and drink and begins with a brilliant talk by the daughter of Fauzi Azar which taught you the history of the inn and Nazareth itself. It was well worth doing if you want to see the real Nazareth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerreid93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this lovely old mansion for two nights before heading out for our hike on the Jesus Trail. The room and the food were wonderful. The staff were fantastic! They helped us with our lost luggage and finding out the many details we needed to make our time in Israel and great experience. We even had a member of the staff on her day off walk us right to the inn to make sure we found the inn without problems. The kitchen was stocked with snacks and the other guests at the hotel offered great conversation times in the cool of the evening. We highly recommend it. It does not have a pool but it still is excellent and worth adding it to your plans for your travels in Israel!

Room Tip: Plan on a hike from the bus stop through alleyways and the old market with steps. This may intimida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcs1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I liked the Fauzi Azar Inn. I stayed in a large private room that could sleep five. The location is great and giving out free water, coffee or tea, cakes and fruits throughout the day is a good idea.

The ‘free’ tour is only recommended if you have plenty of time as it is mainly a praise of what the founder of Fauzi Azar Inn contributed to Nazareth (which is a lot) and visiting shops that donate money to the orphanage project of the tour guide.

In order to generate more guest nights, the inn promotes day trips. I did one suggested trip to Arbel Cliff. The inn suggested that this can be done by bus. The explanation provided by the inn says ‘climb the hill until you reach the entrance to the national park’. The fact is that you need to walk 1.5 hours on the paved road with traffic beside garbage that drivers threw out of the car to reach the national park. And to return, you need to walk back taking another 1.5 hours. In my opinion, this day trip by bus is just not worth walking so long on a boring road. It is a pity that the inn must rely on misleading descriptions to generate more guest nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I can't speak from experience of staying at other places in Nazareth but I'm sure Fauzi Azar offers the best value of any hostel in the area. The free tour was great to get an introduction into the city and the breakfast was great!!
The place was a bit tricky to y but once you get close you can look for a couple of signs pointing you in the right direction. It's helpful to have a phone with GPS!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doulos0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed three days in Fauzi Azar Inn - first alone and later with the small group I was going to travel with. After a one month travel in Israel and Jordan Nazareth and Fauzi Azar Inn was one of the places where we all agreed that we would really love to come back. Many people visit the church in Nazareth and move on to the next place without spending much time visiting the town and that is such a pity.

When I arrived in Fauzi Azar Inn after hours of travelling it was so refreshing. There was such a friendly atmosphere in this 200 years old Arab mansion and somehow I felt home.

The building in itself is exceptional, the breakfast delicious, the service is excellent and the people are so friendly - a great place to stay.

Hanne Moll Christensen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanne Moll C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located in the old city in Nazareth you need to use the map to find but well sign posted from the souk (local market). The building has it's own history and very interesting. For me however it was the staff who made this place - they were so kind and helpful and could not do enough for you. I had trouble getting in touch with B & B accommodation further on the Jesus Trail and they true to their word got it al fixed for me even though I was not staying with them by then and then phoned me to confirm it was all arranged. First class. There is a free tour and on the first day of the Jesus Trail we had a guide for which we were very thankful ( April was absolutely brilliant and incredibly kind and patient with her group ) Free coffee/tea and cake, great breakfast at a great price - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Dorm accommodation is mixed and without A/C but the 6 bed was spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nazareth
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 14 in Nazareth
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#2 of 14 in Nazareth
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel
0.1 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 14 in Nazareth
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels

Property: Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Address: Old City, Nazareth 16125, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fauzi Azar Inn is the best starting-off point for touring the Galilee & Nazareth. The Inn is a 200 years Arab Mansion located at the heart of the market quarters of Nazareth, a short distance from the Central Bus Station and the Basilica of the Annunciation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fauzi Azar Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing