We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Ranked #1 of 15 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Charm”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed before and after the Jesus Trail. Very nice experience, the room are big and clean, the breakfast is very good and all staff is very helpful.
We made a mistake in our booking and they refunded us.
If you are walking across Israel or just across Galilee this is the place where to stay to gather information and connect with people.
Nazareth is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnextDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    198
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
155
271
265
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bucharest
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The philisophy behind Fauzi Azar is great: give the seasoned taveller exactly what he needs, not more not less. A pleasant clean room, no extra's like television, fitness, valet parking:-) but give him also a connection to the people who live in the city.

It starts with the story of the birth of this inn: the audacity of a young jew who pursuid an old Arab family until they gave in and put their old mansion at his disposal to run this great inn. And it continues with the great staff and the knowledgeable guide. And then to top it all, it feels like home every time you return: kitchen free at your disposal, free tea and sweets.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank daniellaroumanesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Weve spent there two days right before Christmas. The guest house itself is very nice and dpecial. The hospitality is very warm and.generous: free cakes and beverages around the clock and a very nice arabic breakfast. Weve stayed in one of the double rooms. The room was nice, but rather simple. Wece found it very pricey: for 125$ one could find an ok room at a hotel in NYC, this is not NYC and we didnt think that the cakes and breakfast do the extramile to justify the price.
We had a look in the two main dorms which were very beautiful , special and seemed convinient. I dont know their price though.
Most of the staff were nice and welcoming. Some where much more and also helpful (eg. Sammy), some were less (eg. Not Sammy).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

the overall stay in Nazareth and at fauzi's was great. very home like,welcoming and treat you as if you a member of a family. if help is needed Sami and the rest of the staff will get out of their way to help.
the building has a unique atmosphere the turns the stay very special.
in the main hall you meet other travelers its great.
the open free kitchen and the fresh homemade cake every morning is priceless.
the double room is big and nice. it was very cold and the air condition was not enough to heat.

the real trouble is getting there and finding the place in all the curves and paths of the old city with the lagged. i found it impossible to find until asking a person to take me there
the location is great. .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55881_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved this place; my only complaint was that the water got only partially hot even after I left the boiler on for 30 minutes.

There is a woman who offers a voluntary free tour of Nazareth every morning. The hotel does not pay her. I found her to be shockingly uneducated; her tour was patronizing and somewhat offensive, both to the guests and to Palestinians--both to local Nazarenes and to those from the West Bank. I would strongly urge the hotel to hire a serious tour guide who is unafraid of telling the real history of this city, especially since 1948. I can't speak for Israeli Jews but the non-Israelis in my group seemed quite earnest in their desire to understand the political economy and history of the area. The tour guide dismissed their questions as "political" and therefore only about "opinion." She clearly understands very little herself. Her tour ultimately does a disservice to the Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we arrived to Nasareth in December, we knew only name: Fauzi something. It was very rainy day and we were tired with our baggages ( we had to climb uphill all the way). Fortunately local people knew hostel and one very kind young man helped us and showed the way to Fauzi. Finally we find right place in middle of the Old city. We didn't know what to expect. Wow. We were very impressed of hostel. Upstairs, check-in and there we were. In a big room. Almost 10 metres from the floor to ceiling. Very beautiful ceiling and furniture. I felt little bit royal. Next day we heard from the owner about history of hostel. Fauzi Azar Inn really has memories and I felt privilidge to be there. The owner was very warm and friendly person. All stuff people were nice, friendly and helpfull. Linda took us to the free tour in Old city. Amazing! Linda is amazing! Thank you :) We enjoyed a travel very much! In hostel we make tea with diffrent kind of herbs. Yum! And there you can eat little cakes for free also ;) Breakfast was awesome! Fruits, cereals, eggs, cakes, salads etc. Wonderful experience! One night we woke up 4 am. and were little bit scared because of prayer voice in mosque. We weren't used to hear that before and so sudden.
After all we had excellent experience of Nazareth thanks to Fauzi Azar Inn.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is absolutely best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

this a lovely old Arab mansion. It is a hostel not a hotel and the facilities are quite basic. The building itself is quite charming, with an open courtyard and tinkling fountain. breakfast is good but the rooms are plain . Our room did not even have a wardrobe! The staff, many of whom are volunteers, were very nice and helpul busst I think it was overpriced for what it offered. It was also a bit inaccessible as the taxi could only get up so far, and you had to climb up steps the rest of the way, not easy with suitacase and hand baggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
0.1 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 15 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels

Property: Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Address: Old City, Nazareth 16125, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fauzi Azar Inn is the best starting-off point for touring the Galilee & Nazareth. The Inn is a 200 years Arab Mansion located at the heart of the market quarters of Nazareth, a short distance from the Central Bus Station and the Basilica of the Annunciation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fauzi Azar Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing