We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a waste”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of St Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Gabriel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nazareth
Herzliya, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a waste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Buatiful location, great view. What a waste!
I stayed one night with a friend. it was freezing cold in the room, central heating was off, air condition not working properly, the room smells of damp. The people running the place are friendly but it seems they don't really care. cheap and nasty.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanivf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
7
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

we just returned from a long weekend with friends at the St. Gabriel Hotel for the second time. the hotel that was formerly a church is located on the hights point in Nazareth with a breathtaking view of the city and the mountains. The owner and family are very friendly and make you feel at home immediatly, they share stories over a hot cup of coffee, tea and cake and offer a number of free tours and things to do in the area. the rooms are very basic but clean and tidy.
Don't miss having dinner at the hotel, the food is amazing they serve almost a 10 course dinner using local products for the price of a simple dinner. I would say that the friendly staff and the experience cover up for the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed one night (Friday) on Dec 28th, the monastery from outside looks great and it is on top of a hill so you could see all of Nazareth below, nice view especially at night. The hotel from inside looks like a regular hotel, especially the corridors and rooms. This was disappointing for me since I expected to feel that I am inside a monastery. The hotel itself is equivalent to a 2 start hotel (something like Motel 6 in the US). The room is small. There are no King beds so if you are a couple you need to sleep on 2 queen beds. The bath is small and functional.
We choose this hotel since we have read that the restaurant is amazing. We ate there on Friday night, it was average nothing more. The day after we choose a random restaurant in Nazareth main street that was far better than this restaurant.
Breakfast includes bred, vegetables, 2 types of serials, eggs, tuna, cake and cold/hot drinks. Was OK. The staff was very warn and helpfull.
To summarize for 150$ for a couple I would expect much better hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor with the City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronari2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nazareth hotels

Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Up up up with a magnificent view of Nazereth. The rooms ate a bit spartan but for the price including breakfast it's a real bargain.
Like a two star hotel. If you will be satisfied with simplicity you can be happy there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moiinisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am all for quaint, but must tell you that this hotel really disappointed. You can see the other comments, which pretty much mirror our experience. What was really weird is that the front desk told me they were having a problem with their credit card machine and I had to pay for the room in cash. Yet, when we went to the restaurant (nothing special) we paid with a credit card.

With all its historical significance, I was pretty amazed that a tour bus full of tourists from Sweden were staying here.... You might consider looking elsewhere.

BTW - bring your own shampoo.....and ask for extra towels.

Room Tip: ask for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanweinkrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel following a warm recommendations. However, it was a colossal disappointment. If we have received a room with a view we could feel much better. We received a tiny room which was unpleasant. We will not return.

Room Tip: If you go there ensist on a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
115 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Price was great, hotel wasn't so great. Rooms were semi-clean (Sheets and linens were clean, carpets were quite worn/dirty), common areas of hotel were quite worn. View from hotel was amazing, but nothing inside the hotel was worth viewing. There are better hotels in the area, but for the money, this is a JUST adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel
0.4 mi away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tabar Hotel
Tabar Hotel
#10 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Gabriel

Property: St Gabriel
Address: Rouse Al Jabal Street 50 Neighborhood Salizian 2 | P.O. Box 2318, Nazareth 16000, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nazareth
Hotel Class:3 star — St Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your St Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing