We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Multiple layers of history”

Megiddo National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Sacred Jewish Sites Tour from Jerusalem: Tiberias, Safed and Mount Meron
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Nazareth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This archaeological site of an ancient fortress town has revealed more than 20 layers of ruins, ranging in time from the Neolithic Period (7000 BC) to the end of the Persian Period (332 BC).
Boston
Level Contributor
407 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Multiple layers of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Archaeologists have uncovered 26 layers of ruins at Megiddo, which date back to 7,000 BC, bearing testament to its strategic location on the north/south and east/west trade routes in ancient times. It was also the site of many battles, and legend has it that this is where the final battle, Armageddon, will occur. Don't forget to take in the wonderful view over the lush Jezreel valley. There is an interesting movie, but it's worth having a tour guide to explain the history of the remains of the different structures. You'll need to walk a lot, often over uneven surfaces, so wear comfortable shoes, and bring a hat, a water bottle and sunscreen.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    80
    26
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, Ca
Level Contributor
320 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice Israel National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This park had a nice movie along with a small museum. The ruins are very old so very much in ruins. The highlight is walking through the water system so try and do that. It was an easy walk back to the park from the exit of the water system.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse , NY
Level Contributor
261 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“9000 Years of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Evidence of people living at this place extend back to 7000 BCE! It's an archaeolgical site that is still being investigated. There were many identified structures that my imagination could bring to life but one of the most amazing things to see is the water tunnel cut out of solid rock in the time of King Ahab almost 3000 years ago. The purpose of the 330 foot long tunnel was to provide a source of water inside the city walls in time of war. A 100 foot vertical shaft was cut in this Iron Age period to reach the water tunnel. It's fascinating to walk the length of the tunnel and realize that the ancient engineers worked from both ends to the center and were only off by a foot.
A fact I knew ahead of time but still didn't make it less impressive was that the term armageddon comes from this place , the scene of many historical battles.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really Cool Place with Lots of History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was fun walking through the ancient ruins high on a mesa top. Then we walked into this water cistern going down tons of stairs. It was an old water cistern they used for drinking water. It's a spectacular ending to this place. Afterwards we ate at this lovely place where we were given outdoor picnic food. We ate outside on picnic tables that were sitting on very green grass. It was lush, green with palm trees. Not far from the picnic tables you could look out from this hidden mountain top paradise to the valley below - it was the Megiddo Valley - Valley of Armageddon. Below us were farms and small towns as far as we could see. It was such a lovely peaceful view of agriculture, beauty and quiet. I wish I could remember this lovely restaurants name. I think they had a gift shop in there too. It was a busy place inside. We gathered our food and headed outside and then it was just those on our tour that we eating on their picnic tables.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skyscape049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Armageddon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

According to Revelation from the Bible, the last great battle is supposed to take place at Har-Megiddo, which turned into Armageddon by the Greek. Thus far, archeologists have found 26 layers of cities here. Even though it has more than 9000 years of history, there is no fancy temples or churches here. I did not visit the under water tunnels because my mom has arthritis.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megiddo National Park also viewed

 
Nazareth, Galilee
Nazareth, Galilee
 

Been to Megiddo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing