We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al-Mutran Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Al-Mutran Guest House
Ranked #2 of 16 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Al-Mutran is absolutely charming. It was recommended to me by another popular guest house and I have no regrets whatsoever that my first choice was fully booked. The Al-Mutran is perfectly situated within the old city and the rooms are immaculate and very welcoming. Everything feels very relaxed and the manager is courtesy personified with nothing too much trouble. This is a place which reminds you what a pleasure travel can be.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    76
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
98
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Tripadvisor led me to this guest house. And the appreciation of this guest house was fully confirmed: the reception with mince tea freshly made was the first highlight. The rooms were OK. (One unfortunately was without daylight). But never the less we enjoyed our stay. The receptionist helped us phone our friends from outside Nazareth and an long conversation followed to explain how to find us. We appreciated very much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisslady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The al Mutran guest house is a lovely old building in a safe, quiet neighborhood very conveniently located. Attractively decorated with Palestinian folk art, it has the feel of an earlier era, but with 20th century plumbing and WiFi connection. The 3rd floor double room and bathroom that I shared was small but comfortable, opening onto a pleasant common sitting area. The terrace at the second floor level must be lovely during warmer weather. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, and the staff was friendly. As another reviewer has noted, the only drawback is the staircase, particularly if you have heavy luggage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Al Mutran is situated just in the very center of Nazareth, a very short walking distance from all the interesting sites. It is in an old and beautiful building. We stayed for 2 nights and were served in the most friendly manner by Emile, who was always available for any need or want.
breakfast consisted of very tasty fresh pitta bread with "za'atar" (a condiment made of a mixture of middle eastern herbs, main component is Majorana syriaca).
we had 2 dogs with us. they were not allowed into the rooms, but enjoyed their night in the car, and joined us the next morning for the fieldtrip.
i recommend - come and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _609101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

20 yr old male travelling with 60 yr old mother.
Emile and Sally are the some of the most lovely AND helpful staff I've met: you could tell they cared!
We were in the room just to the right of the main entrance and it's got such a nice feeling to it and it's really spacious! However we had to move for a night into one of the rooms on the first floor as the shower cubicle wasn't sealing properly and was leaking (Emile was so prompt at attending to this).
Emile's breakfast was lovely and the other few things we ordered.
Sally was prompt with helping us organise the bus to Amman and our laundry and she showed us some great places to eat out.
Also a short walk to the middle of Nazareth.
Recommend this place 100%...it not a 5 star luxury hotel but has so much character and the staff are wonderful and so convenient!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 90basso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a charming guest house. The accommodations were clean and pleasant with lovely appointments in both the lobby and on the way to the rooms. However, all of the rooms are on the third level and there is no elevator so bringing luggage up was difficult. The food was excellently prepared and served and very good. So the only drawback is the stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs this would not be the best choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This beautifully refurbished guest house in the old city on a hill has the atmosphere of a comfortable classic middle eastern accomodation. The old building has its own charm as well as comfort including private bath with shower. It is within walking distance of many of the historic and religious sites. The staff is friendly and accomodating, and a nice middle eastern breakfast is served and included in the cost of the room. There was adequate warm water and water pressure, something often inconsistent in this part of the world. Staff here is fluent in English, Hebrew, as well as Arabic. It will be my home whenever in Nazareth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcGur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#4 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fauzi Azar Inn
The Fauzi Azar Inn
#1 of 16 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#4 of 16 in Nazareth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Mutran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Mutran Guest House

Property: Al-Mutran Guest House
Address: The Old City, Bishop Square | POB 2654, Nazareth 16100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Mutran Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Mutran guest house is a restored 200-year-old Arab mansion in the old city of Nazareth located in the Bishop Square. It offers a boutique-style atmosphere that is suitable for families, couples and individual travelers. The guest house is relaxed and cosy, the staff are welcoming and the rooms are elegant, offering panoramic views over the old city. All rooms have A/C. Free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Al-Mutran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing