We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind and most friendly host, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al-Mutran Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al-Mutran Guest House
Ranked #2 of 16 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
1 review
“kind and most friendly host, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Al Mutran is situated just in the very center of Nazareth, a very short walking distance from all the interesting sites. It is in an old and beautiful building. We stayed for 2 nights and were served in the most friendly manner by Emile, who was always available for any need or want.
breakfast consisted of very tasty fresh pitta bread with "za'atar" (a condiment made of a mixture of middle eastern herbs, main component is Majorana syriaca).
we had 2 dogs with us. they were not allowed into the rooms, but enjoyed their night in the car, and joined us the next morning for the fieldtrip.
i recommend - come and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _609101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    76
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
98
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

20 yr old male travelling with 60 yr old mother.
Emile and Sally are the some of the most lovely AND helpful staff I've met: you could tell they cared!
We were in the room just to the right of the main entrance and it's got such a nice feeling to it and it's really spacious! However we had to move for a night into one of the rooms on the first floor as the shower cubicle wasn't sealing properly and was leaking (Emile was so prompt at attending to this).
Emile's breakfast was lovely and the other few things we ordered.
Sally was prompt with helping us organise the bus to Amman and our laundry and she showed us some great places to eat out.
Also a short walk to the middle of Nazareth.
Recommend this place 100%...it not a 5 star luxury hotel but has so much character and the staff are wonderful and so convenient!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 90basso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a charming guest house. The accommodations were clean and pleasant with lovely appointments in both the lobby and on the way to the rooms. However, all of the rooms are on the third level and there is no elevator so bringing luggage up was difficult. The food was excellently prepared and served and very good. So the only drawback is the stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs this would not be the best choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This beautifully refurbished guest house in the old city on a hill has the atmosphere of a comfortable classic middle eastern accomodation. The old building has its own charm as well as comfort including private bath with shower. It is within walking distance of many of the historic and religious sites. The staff is friendly and accomodating, and a nice middle eastern breakfast is served and included in the cost of the room. There was adequate warm water and water pressure, something often inconsistent in this part of the world. Staff here is fluent in English, Hebrew, as well as Arabic. It will be my home whenever in Nazareth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcGur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, with a group. Three of us shared a room with no problem. The bathroom was clean, the shower was great (others have mentioned that it was small) but I am a small person so had no problem there. The whole place is lovely. Potted plants are eveyrhwere, adding a colorful touch and a homey feel. Breakfast was delicious and the owners are generous and gracious hosts who make you feel welcome from the start. The location is also good, allowing you to walk to many local sites. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Al-Mutran was the most expensive guest house we stayed in during our two weeks in Israel. The price was by no means outrageous. It's just that Nazareth is a tourist trap town, and everything is overpriced.

The building is beautiful. It must be lovely to sit outside in the communal area on a hot day with a cold drink, but I wouldn't know. The day we were there, it was freezing and rained non-stop. When we were in the guest house, we were confined to our room, as that was the only bit that was heated.

The room was small and basic. We're not large people, but the bathroom felt cramped. There was a soap dispenser in the shower, the kind you find in community gyms. I didn't mind (we brought our own), but it was a bit cheap for a three-star guest house.

The bed was comfortable, but we didn't like the fleece sheets/pillowcases. They kept us warm, but the synthetic fabric didn't feel nice on the skin.

Emil, the host, was lovely. He greeted us with coffee and made a delicious breakfast in the morning.

Overall, the guest house isn't bad, but the communal areas are nicer than the rooms, which are a bit basic for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowcarnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at Al Mutran twice and it was perfect each time! It is easy to find, the building is absolutely stunning and unique, and the rooms keep the beauty and character of the old building, but with the comfort of a modern hotel. Everyone working there is extremely helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast was really delicious too. I have stayed in a lot of guesthouses and hotels, around the country and in the world in general, and Al Mutran is definitely one of my favourites! And the fact that it was as good the second time I stayed there says a lot about the consistency of the quality of the place. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying at Al Mutran if you would be in Nazareth, and would even recommend a trip to Nazareth just to stay there (and ask them for their great recommendations of the best places to eat and what to see).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rifka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#4 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fauzi Azar Inn
The Fauzi Azar Inn
#1 of 16 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#4 of 16 in Nazareth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Mutran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Mutran Guest House

Property: Al-Mutran Guest House
Address: The Old City, Bishop Square | POB 2654, Nazareth 16100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Mutran Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Mutran guest house is a restored 200-year-old Arab mansion in the old city of Nazareth located in the Bishop Square. It offers a boutique-style atmosphere that is suitable for families, couples and individual travelers. The guest house is relaxed and cosy, the staff are welcoming and the rooms are elegant, offering panoramic views over the old city. All rooms have A/C. Free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Al-Mutran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing