We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value + good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nazareth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sisters of Nazareth Convent
Certificate of Excellence
Untergruppenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Good value + good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed 3 nights as a single in a double room - I asked for that upgrade and got the bigger room without paying more.

The room was the best I had during my 18-days-trip in Israel. Especially the bathroom was perfect. Every day room service, every day fresh towels. Very quiet in the night.

Located just 2 minutes by walking beside the Basilica and 5 minutes to the bus stop.

The manager was friendly and helpful, Marie-Jeanne at the reception even more than that.

Best option in Nazareth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
9
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Located close to the Basilica of the Annunciation, this is a lovely place. The single room was very small and simple, with plain walls sporting a lone crucifix attached to the wall. The bathroom was tiny and there was no TV or radio - but you don't stay in a convent looking for luxury. Everything was impeccably clean. The room had a little balcony with a lovely view to the higher portions of Nazareth which looked beautiful at night. Breakfast was simple as well, but more than adequate.

All of this simplicity matched the wonderful feel of the convent - a place where one could rest at night away from any distractions and reflect on the experiences of the day. It is for this reason that the convent was my favourite place to stay in all of Israel and would love to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is an excellent choice for a short stay in Nazareth; not only is it amazingly cheap, but it is also an awesome place. The staff were very friendly, helpful and non-judgemental when I arrived with no prior booking, and the dorm to which I was assigned turned out to only have one other person in it. There is a free internet room, and meals are served, though I presumed you had to book them in advance. In the morning I was allowed to leave my luggage for free with the receptionist for a couple of hours, and they also let me hang out in the beautiful courtyard until the early afternoon. The Convent is right next to the Basilica of the Ascension, and a few minutes walk from the old town, which is very convenient. One note is that the mattreses on the beds were pretty concave, and could potentially cause discomfort, but the general experience outweighed this small issue. A fantastic place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AsteriosPolyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

We just came back from a month's trip to the Holy Land. We have stayed at this convent for 3nights. The first night we were lucky to be the only guests/ pilgrims on this huge convent!

The Marie-Jeanne at the reception gave us the best room facing the Basilica of the Annunciation. Only Casa Nova (a few meters down and more people on the same little street can be any closer to the gates of the Basilica). All the windows of our room opened to the facade of the basilica including the bathroom windows! marie-Jeanne was also so nice to offer us to wash and dry our clothes in exchange for a prayer to include her.

The rooms are big! we were a couple and they gave us 3 beds. The rooms are also bright, modern and clean. Most convents/pilgrim houses we've stayed in the Holy land are small and slightly outdated BUT not this one.

Since we took the bus from Jerusalem, the bus had brought us in front of the "mall" on Paul Street (nazareth does not have a bus station but rather buses stop here en route to tiberias) . This is literally in front of the Basilica. You just have to walk around the Basilica before Paul St forks on the intersection and this convent. It was just a 5-10minute walk.

Some additional bonuses: The convent has great views of the city at the third floor 9great for watching sunrises/sunsets). On a archaeological stand point, the entire convent, stands on the ancient st century Nazareth Village that is connected to the major excavation (now a museum part of the Basilica of the Annunciation). It has an intact ancient jewish tombs, arches, cisterns, etc...The cloister was also lovely to eat meals or just read a book. If you need to be online, the convent has access to a computer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drgreenthumb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

If you want an urban retreat experience in the Holy Land, this is it. Outstanding staff and small but very clean rooms. Quiet retreat but literally steps from the market, the Basilica and shops. Rooftop terrace a sublime thrill. Breakfast is simple but with the freshest sesame bread. Not a "hotel" but a genuine religious pilgrim house.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Rev_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

I arrived at Nazareth New City at 9.30pm, and phoned the convent to see if they had vacancies. So, in effect, I checked in with 15 minutes of notice and the sisters there couldn’t have been more helpful. The 10.30pm curfew and early 10am check-out may put one or two people off but I can honestly say that I’ve never, ever stayed somewhere for such a short-time, and enjoyed it so much.

I paid 180 NIS for a single-room with en-suite bathroom but without breakfast, and it was the cleanest place I’d ever stayed in. It was quiet, and the shower was top, top quality. A very good toilet, and plenty of plugs to recharge the camera or mobile phone. The courtyard is beautiful, as was the roof which its magnificent view of Nazareth. There’s also an air-con, but no TV or wi-fi though you could pick up someone else’s on the rooftop.

If I were to point out the drawbacks, they are pretty minor matters: such as the squeaky bed or the thinnish walls which meant I could hear the person snoring next door. But really, I have no obvious complaints about this convent, which is magnificent and superbly-located, being next to the Basilica of the Annunciation. I really cannot emphasise enough just how clean the place is.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Location is great. Grounds are very nice if you are lucky you might arrange a visit to the herodian tomb and other ruins below the convent, with a nice guiding and it is free.
Breakfast is basic, bread, jam and cheese. But the rooms are spotless, new, beds are great and linens white and really nice. Not forgetting really nice and helpful staff. One of best stays in Israel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fauzi Azar Inn
The Fauzi Azar Inn
#1 of 15 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 15 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sisters of Nazareth Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisters of Nazareth Convent

Property: Sisters of Nazareth Convent
Address: Old City | near the basilica, Nazareth, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Nazareth
Also Known As:
Sisters Of Nazareth Convent Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing