We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for a writing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nahariya
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
1 review
“Wonderful place for a writing retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I just spent 4 nights at this lovely small hotel with 3 other writers during the intermediate days of Passover. We came from different parts of Israel to work on our own projects and also to spend time together. The Erna Shtarkman Hotel was the perfect place. Each room had a desk as well as a hot water pot, large mugs for coffee or tea, and a small refrigerator, as well as plenty of electrical outlets and good lighting, all necessities for a writing group. There is a pretty garden in the back with comfortable seating, as well as tables and chairs on a patio in the front. The dining room is spotless and airy, and the breakfast was excellent--varied, plentiful, beautifully presented: many kinds of salads, cheeses, eggs, fish, cereal, juices, real coffee (espresso too), dried fruits, Passover pastries, everything you'd expect from an Israeli hotel breakfast but without the over-the-top excess. The hotel is family owned since its founding 3 generations ago, and you can feel the personal care and dedication in every detail. The staff was attentive to our needs and went out of their way to be helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable. Everything was immaculate. The hotel is on a quiet side street a few minutes walk to the beach and a long seaside promenade. It's also a short walk to the main street of the town and its many restaurants and shops. You don't need a car to get around; nor, for that matter, do you need a car to get to Nahariya itself, which you can easily get to by train. I cannot say enough good things about this unique and special hotel. When I came to scout it out several weeks before our retreat, I met a couple who told me they stay there regularly when in the area for business even though their company would pay for more expensive accommodations. Now I understand why. Relatives of mine from the States are coming to visit in May, and we will stay here for the one night we'll be on the northern coast. You don't have to be a writer to appreciate this gem.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms have slightly more modern and newer furnishings than those in the Classic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    60
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
110
142
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warsaw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place is located in a villa in villa neighborhood. It is not directly on the shore, but short walking distance. The interior is very spacious and nicely decorated. The rooms are rather small but nicely furnished and clean. After a long day you really rest in this place. The breakfast was matching a chain-hotel rather a small hotel, but was good. You can park just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in an upgraded "executive" room that was rather spartan, a step above the hostel in Shlomi we stayed at a couple of years ago. Dark hallways. This disappointment was offset by the fact that room and common spaces were exceptionally clean. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Last time I stayed in Nahariya was some 30 years ago. A small charming seaside town has grown up not very pretty, and there is little to commend it any longer. For an overnight after a long day touring the north coast, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6101FCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is a well-cared for inn with a very friendly staff. The inn is very close to the beach and within walking distance of a very nice restaurant named Ida, which was highly recommended to us by the staff. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and they serve a wonderful full breakfast spread in the morning!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We spent 1 night here while on vacation in Israel. It was a great little hotel and great value as well. It's friendly, clean and comfortable with a nice breakfast and helpful staff. A great restaurant in the neighborhood is Ida. It was recommended by the hotel staff, and someone we chatted with on the beach. You also get a discount through the hotel.

Our group had 4 rooms, ours was newly renovated, but all were very nice and clean, although small.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Small, comfortable family owned hotel run by the proprietor and her charming daughter.
Very reasonably priced, minutes from the beach and the fleshpots of Nahariya.
There was a delightful sitting area out front and a lovely garden in the rear for a quiet rest after a day's busy sightseeing.
Much nicer than staying in a big, impersonal hotel.
I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delaroche_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Have just been exploring the Northern Coast of Israel with my wife: took a train from Ben Gurion Airport to the excellent Hotel Erna in the seaside town of Nahariya which is as far as the train runs (the Lebanese border is up ahead and that's closed off). Hotel is spotlessly clean, basic but adequate faciilites so our room had good shower and wc, very comfy bed, sufficient storage space, good opening window, kettle and fridge and the hotel was happy to supply crockery so we could brew our favourite Yorkshire Tea! Thoroughly helpful staff who did not object to our arriving just before midnight (late flight from the UK then a train journey on the Shabbat).: looked out excursions, train and bus times, offered good advice on trips to the grottoes at Rosh Hanikra and the fantastic Crusaders' Citadel at Akko (10 minutes away on the train). They were able to organise discounted tickets for these attractions -- most useful. Discounts offered to good restaurants (which we used), nice little garden in whcih to enjoy a chilled beer and meet friends, an excellent breakfast. Very, very reasonable price and we'd like to return and chill out beside the sea again for longer (about five minutes walk from the hotel).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OXENHO0PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nahariya
1.0 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.3 mi away
Efendi Hotel
Efendi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Acre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel Nahariya
Madison Hotel Nahariya
#3 of 7 in Nahariya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
10.8 mi away
C Hotel Hacienda Forestview
C Hotel Hacienda Forestview
#1 of 1 in Maalot Tarshikha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel

Property: Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
Address: 29 Jabotinski, Nahariya 2238306, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Nahariya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nahariya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing