We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than we expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohalo Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ohalo Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jordan Valley
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A great location ( directly on the lake ).
It is highly recommanded to have a car.
Appr. 10 minutes by car to Tiberias
Easy excess to all interesting sites in that earea
We felt at home.Very friendly people
The food was also good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed as part of a tour group. The food is OK, Getting anything in the buffet that was not self-serve could take some time (such as a beer or glass of wine). Sometimes long enough to finish your meal. The rooms were spartan (which one would expect in a Kibbutz) and dirty (and buggy). Try as we might, it was not really possible to take a shower w/o flooding the bathroom (many in our group complained of faulty plumbing: drains that leaked onto the floor, so it may not have been from shower spray). The beds were very narrow and not very comfortable. Many of the things promised were not actually available. The wireless is not really usable in the rooms, and is so slow even in the lobby to be worthless. The "beach access" is really dirty marsh access a half mile away. And we had e-mailed before leaving with our specific dates of stay asking for laundry service and told it was available, however when we arrived were told was no longer available. There is a lot of potential here based on the location and structures - wonderful views are available, but none of it is realized.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jordan Valley hotels

California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel is very run down from the outside, but the rooms seem to be well maintained. We were upgraded to a "garden room" which was extremely basic but clean and spacious. The views of the Kinneret are gorgeous, and the hotel has nice landscaping. We got half board, the food was truly excellent- worthy of a very high quality hotel- tons of variety, great food. We went to see the pool (across the street) and it seemed to be closed/under construction.
Service was okay, nothing amazing. Overall this is a great hotel for people not looking for a super luxurious vacation, but a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great location for a hotel, just on the banks of the Sea of Galilee, fantastic to watch the sun set over the Golan Heights and the sea. Close by are a few places to eat, Alanhar or the fish restaurant next door to it, both are located about 200 yards down towards the kibutz Kinerrett entrance and the baptism site. Alanhar sits on the banks of the River Jordan and is as peaceful a place to have a meal as you could find. You can also eat in the hotel restaurant and the meals are good value and good quality.

The hotel itself is simple and clean, nothing fancy. It has a shower that works well and the beds are comfortable, the rooms are cleaned daily and the hotel facilities are all fine. Wi-Fi is a bit weak as you move away from the reception.

You would need a car to stay here as it is about 10 minutes drive from Tiberias, though parking in Tiberias is a nightmare, some parking behind the sea front that you pay for.

All in all a reasonable hotel by Israeli standards, I would stay there again and plan to return in December with my family. The hotel can get a little noisy on Friday nights as this is the time when most Israelis come for the weekend. They are not the quietest people in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Sea in block 1. These have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Nice clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, well stocked buffets. Going half board is a must as there are no restaurants nearby.

We couldn't find more than a half mile picturesque walk before we returned to the busy main road again. But I'm sure you could with a little effort.

The nearest place to bathe in the sea of galillee is a little rubbish-strewn but walk past that and it's amazing-secluded and calm and so clear. We thought we were the only people in it at that time!

The views from the terrace are beautiful.

Good all round. Easy to find by public transport-get off at "kibbutz kinneret" and it's across the road. Good food. Good service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahpineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Ohalo Manor is a solid three-star hotel right on the banks of the Kinneret (Sea of Gallilee), just north of Kibbutz Degania. It is owned by Kibbutz Kinneret but not on the same property or same side of the highway as the kibbutz so is self-contained. We (family of 4) paid $170 for half-board on Shabbat, and then paid NIS 50 (adult)/NIS 40 (child) for lunch. For Israel, this was very reasonable.

The Shabbat lunch was quite good--very fresh tasting, not dried out at all, so the kitchen appears to be under very good management. The rooms were very clean, the foam mattresses were comfortable, and we didn't have to share a bed with the children, which was nice. The hotel playground was decent. The views were spectacular. What makes this 3 star and not 4 is the lack of fancy finishings in the hotel--basic but nice.

The hotel is uphill from the Kinneret and takes under 5 mintues to get to the water. You can take a short hike in either direction along the water--south to the boatyard and Kibbutz Degania, north to a cemetary (that's as far as we went) and onwards towards Tiberias. The management said the municipalities were in the process of building a boardwalk around the lake, but this has not been finished yet.

The hotel is easy to find--located right off the highway. A hidden gem is that directly north of the perimeter fence of the hotel are Canaanite ruins dating 4,500 years old. We came upon them while wandering around and were very impressed. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElisaBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jordan Valley
4.3 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
5.1 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
9.3 mi away
Nof Ginosar Hotel
Nof Ginosar Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ginosar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza
#18 of 37 in Tiberias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ein-Gev Holiday Resort
Ein-Gev Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Ein Gev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
5.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohalo Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohalo Manor

Property: Ohalo Manor
Address: Kibbutz Kinneret, 1511800, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Jordan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jordan Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohalo Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the magical landscapes of the Kinneret and the Golan Heights you'll find the holiday village - Ohalo, set in a beautiful and pastoral site, with expansive lawns and lush, well-kept gardens. The special location of the village, next to road 90, makes it a place that is easy to reach for all those holiday makers looking for a hotel next to the Kinneret. The site is located in an area rich in attractions, hiking trails, historical sites and places to just have fun. Spacious guest rooms, a varied, kosher menu, and breathtaking views over the Kinneret make your stay special. Add the peace, the tranquility and the natural beauty of this area and a special stay becomes memorable! The restaurant also offers a lunch on route service for groups visiting these nearby holy sites. Groups can enjoy a great meal at the restaurant which also includes the famous St. Peter's fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ohalo Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohalo Manor Israel/Jordan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing