We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount of Temptation”

Mount of Temptation Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
Bethlehem and Jericho from Tel Aviv
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Jericho
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mount of Temptation”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a must see place! Wonderful and amazing.Walk uphill or use the cable car to get there than enjoy the spectacular scenery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It is a must if you want to see monasteries, St. George is better.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Its name is Karantal , after the forty days of temptation. If you decided to visit Jericho the visit in Karantal monastery is one of the highlight in the region. The best way to do it is with all the tourist in a cable car, and if you are a climber it is 20 minutes climb.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For a rest”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there in August 2010'. Ask a taxi driver to take you around to Wadi Musa, the Sugar factory, Palace of H, monastery of temptations, Wadi Qelt. In February or early March. This time i wanted to stay by the pool by the hotel... I disliked the closure of the checkpoint gå Jerusalem by the IDF. Had to wait two jours.Why????e

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lena130304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
216 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Awesome Religious Experience & Amazing Views!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

For those on a religious pilgrimage, this is a great stop! Thanks God we were able to enter the Mt. of Temptation Monastery as we read only a handful of monks live there & they can be selective on who they let in. True enough, a vendor outside the monastery told us only 2 monks now occupy the place (& 1 of them is already quite advanced in age) so it's a coin toss on admissions. We were blessed enough that there was a large tour group of Greek Orthodox pilgrims visiting so we the doors were open. However, it seemed like prior to our arrival, a group of tourists were turned away & not long after we exited the monastery, the doors were again closed.

The monastery itself was quite an experience as there were multiple spots where Jesus prayed, meditated & was tempted, including a large cave leading to a smaller cave where Jesus stayed. The was also a room on the far side of the monastery, up the stairs, that had a rock where Jesus was tempted. The decor was in Greek Orthodox style & the place was clean & well maintained, especially considering only a couple of monks live there.

For the non-religious tourists, the drive there offered some spectacular scenery towards the mountain & the hike up allowed for awesome views of Jericho & the mountain as well. We were reminded of how Jesus & the prophets consistently picked some great real estate for their dwellings & excellent locations for their big events.

We didn't take the cable car since we couldn't locate it at 1st & ended up just following the road signs by driving all the way up the mountain & parking at the tourist bus parking lot, where food & souvenir vendors set-up shop.

We didn't expect to get inside the monastery based on what we read so were delighted & grateful to God for the blessed experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Another meh...”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

According to biblical tradition, Jesus spent forty days and nights up this mountain to be tempted by Satan: to turn stone into bread, to jump off a high place, and to worship Satan in return for all the riches and glory in the world. Needless to say, Jesus passed the test.

Now, a monastery sits at the supposed site. The monastery may be reached by cable car (easy) for a fee or by hiking up (hard). Aside from magnificent views of Jericho below and of Jordan from afar, there is little else to see at the monastery. A coin toss.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount of Temptation Monastery also viewed

Jericho, West Bank
Jericho, West Bank
 
Jericho, West Bank
 

Been to Mount of Temptation Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing