We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a Night, But Won’t Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in late April for one night and decided on Legacy Inns based on reviews and the nightly rate ($120+). The room and the hotel were dated - tube TV, peeling paint, etc. While the room was not dirty, it definitely wasn't clean. Breakfast was the normal spread at every other hotel. We’ll look elsewhere for better value if in Artesia again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheNarrowRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us last spring but I hope you will return in the future. Sometime in late fall or early winter we are going to have a make over with all new everything. Please consider returning so we can try again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Legacy Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'm not writing to pan this motel as I didn't stay there. I'm just writing to report we made reservations online for 3 nights in June 2013 and this motel had no record of our reservations when we arrived though we had a reservation confirmation number. Although the staff person was apologetic, there was nothing she could do as they were fully booked. Also, all other motels in town were fully booked on the night of our arrival which exacerbated our predicament. My recommendation is that you call and confirm your reservations with the motel if you make your reservations online (through fine hospitality site for New Mexico motels). Also noted I received no response to the follow-up email address that came with our confirmation #.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank casualtraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

I am very sorry that your reservation never made through space or where ever things done on the internet go. Under normal circumstances we would have been able to help you with a room but the entire area was busy. I do hope you will come back to Artesia in the future and let us help you enjoy your trip.

Sincerely,

Sammie VanStory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This motel is about 5 or 6 miles off of the main road, US 285. Through the land of red light cameras with short timed yellow lights. Had reservations, arrived and checked in, was given a room on the second floor, I asked where the elevators were and was informed that they did not have any, all ground floors were rented..... Had to carry our luggage & bags up 2 flights of stairs. we're almost 70. The evening came & we left for dinner, after returning from dinner, noticed the rear back door was not locking, suppose to be key card only, anyone could just open the door and their in, No Camera's.....
Next morning, breakfast, cereal stale, powdered milk = pitiful. Told the desk about the rear door not locking and they said that has been broken for a while. it's on the list.

Room Tip: But there's not smoking or pets allowed.....
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marge s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It came as a shock to me that you were under the impression that our hotel was so very far from the highway and that we had red light cameras. I can assure you that the milk you drank for breakfast was either 2% or whole milk; not powered. Perhaps when you pass this way again you will give us another try. Just give me a call and I will give the best rate available at that time.

Sincerely,

Sammie VanStory, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

the rooms are very clean and quiet the staff is very friendly it is a good location close to shoping and restaurants the free breakfast has good food i would reconnend the hotel to family and friens i had a good stay i stay at a lot of hotels and it is in yhe top 5 i have ben in

Room Tip: all the room are good & clean
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back on how our hotel is doing. It is only through folks like you that take the time to write, that we know if we are doing what our guests want. If there is anyway that we can improve, please let us know.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this on the back of the Trip Advisor reviews and right we were. Huge room, big bathroom, comfortable beds and quiet. It may have been our room location but I would recommend this again. The only downside was the breakfast, which was probably on a par with most other motels for quality but I detest eating from cardboard plates, it brings the breakfast experience down to soup kitchen level. I have never had to eat from disposable crockery with plastic cutlery in any other country in the world but it seems to be the norm in the USA. China crockery and metal cutlery would raise this hotel a big notch above the rest.

Room Tip: Top floor executive at the far end. We had no surcharge.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mittxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Artesia, NM and thank you for the nice things that you said about our property. It is our # 1 goal that our guests should have a stay that is enjoyable. We hope you choose Legacy Inn & Suites the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

All around pretty comfortable hotel. My only qualm with it is that it is SOOOOO expensive. Why would I want to pay $110 for a night here in the middle of Artesia, NM? I stay at a lot of hotels, and I think this is not $110 quality. The "toiletries" that they offer are bath and body works though, which is definitely a nice surprise.

Stay here if you have no where else to stay. DON'T eat at the La Fonda.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCGypsy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with Legacy Inn & Suites and thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback on your experience. We want to be your hotel of choice anytime you are in Artesia, NM.

Sammie VanStory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I are staying at the Legacy Inn for an extended period while relocating to the Artesia area. Although I'm not pleased with temporarily living in a hotel, the Legacy Inn has helped it not be quite so horrible. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and roomy. We have a dorm-size fridge and a microwave in our room which is very beneficial. While their name is Legacy Inn and Suites, they don't actually have any suites. Which was confusing in the beginning. My only complaint is the bed is way too hard for my personal preference. We recommend Legacy Inn for your stay in Artesia!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linznicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Artesia hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Artesia
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Artesia
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Artesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pecos Inn
Best Western Pecos Inn
#4 of 7 in Artesia
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Artesia
Hotel Artesia
#5 of 7 in Artesia
90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#1 of 3 in Artesia
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Inn & Suites

Address: 2210 W Main St, Artesia, NM 88210-3720 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Artesia)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Artesia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Price Range: $75 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Legacy Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Artesia Hotel with convenience and comfort at the Legacy Inn & Suites Artesia. Our smoke-free Artesia hotel, located near US-285 between Roswell and Carlsbad, NM, will make your comfort our top priority. Our hotel in Artesia, NM is nestled in the Pecos Valley and provides a gateway to Southeastern New Mexico. Business travelers will find that our focus is to provide comfort and a corporate atmosphere to meet their needs. Federal Law Enforcement Training Center, Navajo Refining, Yates Petroleum, Pride Petroleum, Artesia General Hospital, and Penasco Valley Telecommunications are all close to our hotel in Artesia. You'll enjoy the comforts of home with upgraded amenities that include an outdoor pool, new Fitness Center, new Business Center, and free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel. A free hot breakfast buffet will start your day right. For those who want our best accommodations, try our spacious Executive Suites. The Legacy Inn Artesia- has everything you expect and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Legacy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Inn And Suites
Legacy Hotel Artesia
Holiday Inn Artesia
Artesia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing