We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, great staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pecos Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington St
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay, great staff!!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Clean rooms. Very accomadating and friendly staff. Kudos to Sandy and Robin in particular.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beagador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    74
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
76
48
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Quaint hotel, loved the decor in the main lobby. Although the hotel does not have an elevator, the pool and hot tub were nice sized (family loved it). The room was more than large enough for the four of us. The mattresses were ok but I have trouble sleeping in any bed but my own. The understuffed pillows were perfect for me but my teenage daughter was disappointed. There were only two pillows on each bed but I'm sure we could have asked for more. Best part about staying here was the complimentary "hot" breakfast; options included pancakes, french toast, eggs, hashbrowns, sausage or bacon, and juice in addition to coffee. Sure beats a continental breakfast any day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitstmp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were visiting Carlsbad Caverns and were wary of the reviews for the Carlsbad hotels. We decided to stay here and were very glad we did. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very large. We booked a king with a roll-away and were not cramped at all. The room had a handy mini-fridge, microwave and decent sized bathroom. The indoor pool was a nice bonus. The included hot breakfast was very basic, but filling. The hotel is a Best Western and compared to other hotels in this class, I would rate the Pecos Inn as one of the nicest I have been in.

The drive from the hotel to the visitors center at Carlsbad Caverns took an hour and 15 minutes. Although Artesia is farther away than Carlsbad, I would happily take the additional travel time in exchange for a room I know will be clean any day.

The town of Artesia is quite small but has a nice walkable downtown area about 6 blocks long with a couple of nice restaurants. The shops keep very small town hours - almost nothing seemed to be open on either Sunday or Monday, and the typical weekday open time seemd to be 10:00.

Also, there is a large refinery at the eastern edge of town, but it didn't bother me.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarefootTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We had been planning to stay in Carlsbad, however we couldn't find a decent hotel at a good price (they wouldn't even accept a priceline bid of $60!). The Pecos Inn at Artesia was the right choice for us. The rooms were clean and good-sized. The beds were comfortable. The pool and jacquizi area pleasant. And, the free hot breakfast (5 choices), was good.

Plus, it was fun walking around the old downtown area and looking at the bronze statues and visiting the old train station. Everyone we met in Artesia were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zapityzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My daughter and I went to Artesia for the state Battle of the Books competition. I was worried about the room when we walked up the stairs (no elevator) to our second floor room -- the hallways smelled like smoke. But our room, thankfully, did not.

The room was large and clean but outdated (who cares about decor, though, really?) The beds were fairly comfortable, there was a desk and a little table, and 2 queen beds. The bathroom was nice and clean, and there was an area with another sink, a microwave and a small fridge. There is free wifi in the rooms and it was really quite fast.

There were7 school buses of kids and adults from various parts of the state for the competition, so I was worried about noise. We didn't hear a peep all night (I had a white noise machine on, though.) The pool was crowded, of course, with all of those kids, but it was petty nice and seemed clean.

Based on the reviews of the Chinese restaurant, we did not even try it nor the breakfast.

Overall, I would stay again if I ever have to go to Artesia again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iggie394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I have been staying here for work purposes, and I have to say that it is the nicest Best Western I have stayed at for a long time. I see bad reviews for the Chinese restaurant on site but you have to realize that they are trying to please a wide variety of people, hence, the restaurant is serving both Chinese and American foods for the buffet and the take-out. I see no problems. Great for the value!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

$89.00 for one night... highschool football game just down the road...lots of noise.... 2 queen beds... mini kitchen... reg bath... all clean... stupid curtain kept falling in front of the a/c so the room never cooled down... unless you opened the drapes... 1st floor...not going to happen... did not sleep well all night... stuffy and hot.... could never get curtains to stay out of the way... and then there was the food.... ok.. Best Western does not own the horrible Chinese restaurant.. and if they were smart... they would find a way to evict them... the food was over cooked and dry...and tasteless...but hey...no MSG!!!.... awful...just AWFUL... and did I mention the diarreah!!...yeah.. nice benefit... so anyway.... courtesy breakfast is done by the same horrible Chinese restaurant.... everything and I mean everything was overcooked the bacon was like beef jerky... the scrambled eggs were crispy and brown.... yuck yuck yuck... again.. best western needs to separate themselves from that place..... oh and if you are allergic to cats... beware... there is a resident cat... sweet and kind... but if you have allergies... probably not a good thing...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deebles1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Artesia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Artesia
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Artesia
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Artesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Artesia
Hotel Artesia
#5 of 7 in Artesia
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#1 of 3 in Artesia
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legacy Inn & Suites
Legacy Inn & Suites
#7 of 7 in Artesia
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pecos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pecos Inn

Property: Best Western Pecos Inn
Address: 2209 W Main St, Artesia, NM 88210-3721 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Artesia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pecos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pecos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pecos Hotel Artesia
Artesia Best Western
Best Western Artesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing