We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good in spite of some little drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pecos Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
277 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Very good in spite of some little drawbacks”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose this hotel in Artesia because the hotels in Carlsbad were so expensive and the reviews were not so good unless we paid over 200$... We got very good value at this hotel in Artesia. The hotel is quite spacious and very beautiful. The price was 130$ with the taxes included which is a very good deal for the area (taxes are high in New Mexico).

Very nice big room with sofa, microwave and fridge. But the fridge was switched ''off'' and we were surprised when we noticed our food got warm. Fortunately, it was not too late, the food was still good when when switched it on.

It was very clean except fot the 2 chips that were forgotten under a bed. Very good wifi and nice Native American decorations on the walls. There was a computer for the guests in the lobby and it was very nice. We would have liked so much to use the pool, the hot tub and the exercise room but after walking for almost 4 hours in Carlsbad Caverns and Living Desert Zoo and Gardens in Carlsbad, we were so tired. Maybe next time...

I would have liked to have a beer at the lodge but it was closed as it was a Saturday night. The breakfast was included in the price (except for the gratuities). My husband had cereals and I had toasts, 2 eggs, hash brown and sausages. It was very good.

We were very happy that there was a laundry room but a bit disappointed that it was not free for the guests as it is the case in many Comfort Inns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at Best Western Pecos Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us, we realize there are lots of choices here and in our surrounding area so once again thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    74
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
76
48
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Once we checked in the service was GREAT! Call the hotel directly in Artesia to reserve rooms because my family reunion reservations through the Best Western 800 number were not accepted. I was told they never received them from Best Western and that they don't normally reserve much through the 800 number which I found strange. Fortunately we were able to get rooms but not the exact ones and numbers I had reserved through the 800 number with a confirmation number even. Great breakfast comes with the rooms in a wonderful restaurant area. Very large lobby lounge for gathering and visiting. Nice outdoor area with grill. Large indoor swimming area and a work out room. Lounge (bar) closes way too early.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly in Artesia to reserve the rooms you want because my reservations with a group co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at Best Western Pecos Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your insight. We will look forward to seeing you at your next family reunion, please keep us in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took the family out for a weekend trip seeing White Sands and Carlsbad Caverns over the weekend from Albuquerque. First this was a mistake, the caves deserve more time but that is besides the point.

For a weekend trip Artesia was a good in between point for us to rest. Hotels are limited, but we found this Best Western online. The Hotel is dated, but clean and quiet. Kids liked the pool which was well kept with extra towels. Did not spend much time in the room as it was just an overnight. Breakfast was lacking in speed of service, but very good considering there was only one person seating, serving, cooking and cleaning.

Note for those with allergies. They do have a hotel cat guarding the entrance and from what I could tell spends most of its time there. Cat did not mind kids. If you have really bad allergies this might be an issue. For us it was not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at Best Western Pecos Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad your children enjoyed our pool. I apologize for the problems with breakfast and even though our restaurant is leased I will talk to them about your concerns. We know you have many choices when picking lodging and we thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Really surprised at the quality of stay here in a far out of the way place in New Mexico. If you are going to Carlsbad Caverns then this is the place to stay. Nice restaurant and grounds. Everything you would want. Reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mseeliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed there one night to break up a long trip. It was clean, comfortable, nice, and everything worked fine. The breakfast was free. You got a coupon to use at the restaurant downstairs and had a choice of french toast, pancakes, hash browns along with eggs and either bacon or sausage. All sit-down, made to order, and very tasty. Would definitely recommend. Also, the room had a microwave and refrigerator.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfamilysanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very nice hotel. Rooms were nice and clean also the bed was very good and I enjoyed a good nights sleep. Woke up to a well cooked breakfast which came with the room. was different then a buffet when most of the food is luke warm or cold. So overall a really good stay and I would stay again. Robert Mason

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Artesia hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Artesia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Artesia
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Artesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Artesia
Hotel Artesia
#5 of 7 in Artesia
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#1 of 3 in Artesia
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legacy Inn & Suites
Legacy Inn & Suites
#7 of 7 in Artesia
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pecos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pecos Inn

Property: Best Western Pecos Inn
Address: 2209 W Main St, Artesia, NM 88210-3721 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Artesia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pecos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pecos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pecos Hotel Artesia
Artesia Best Western
Best Western Artesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing