We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great authentic Mexican food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
Ranked #20 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I haven't been here since I was a kid but it was just as good as I remember. We had a selection of Mexican food and a hamburger.

The stuffed sopapillas were awesome and huge! We had a great experience and the waitress was really nice.

Very generous portions and reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 6inaSuburban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    31
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was very family friendly with excellent service. The Mexican food is average, but given the limited number of restaurants in town I would still eat there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jocelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taco Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Try the Chicken Taco Salad. The restaurant is homey and the service friendly. Not a bad option for dinner in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ew”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

ummm. so we asked our front desk clerk at the hotel where we should eat that was "good". she gave us a recommendation for la fonda. we should have clarified that "good" and "edible" should have the same meaning, but she confused it by thinking i asked "what is open?" it was literally the only restaurant open in the area.

the old lady serving us recommended the sopasillos, which was delivered to the table at just a hot pile of mush. it was awful. i can honestly say this is by far the worst failed attempt at "mexican" i have ever tasted. it was literally a pita, filled with hot meat (i couldn't even tell what kind of meat it was), melted, american cheese and a "dollop" of sour cream. the rice was cold. the refried beans looked like mud. MUD!

And to top it all off, the meal ended up costing $14! What a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCGypsy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“good meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

the restaurant was clean, with a good menu, & was convenient to our hotel ( the Heritage Inn across the street)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing