We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good service, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was very family friendly with excellent service. The Mexican food is average, but given the limited number of restaurants in town I would still eat there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jocelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    31
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taco Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Try the Chicken Taco Salad. The restaurant is homey and the service friendly. Not a bad option for dinner in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ew”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

ummm. so we asked our front desk clerk at the hotel where we should eat that was "good". she gave us a recommendation for la fonda. we should have clarified that "good" and "edible" should have the same meaning, but she confused it by thinking i asked "what is open?" it was literally the only restaurant open in the area.

the old lady serving us recommended the sopasillos, which was delivered to the table at just a hot pile of mush. it was awful. i can honestly say this is by far the worst failed attempt at "mexican" i have ever tasted. it was literally a pita, filled with hot meat (i couldn't even tell what kind of meat it was), melted, american cheese and a "dollop" of sour cream. the rice was cold. the refried beans looked like mud. MUD!

And to top it all off, the meal ended up costing $14! What a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCGypsy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

the restaurant was clean, with a good menu, & was convenient to our hotel ( the Heritage Inn across the street)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

With all the Mexican food classics and a big lunch buffet this place will never let you down. The people are always freindly and the portions are huge for how much you pay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing