We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
Ranked #20 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“good meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

the restaurant was clean, with a good menu, & was convenient to our hotel ( the Heritage Inn across the street)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    31
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

With all the Mexican food classics and a big lunch buffet this place will never let you down. The people are always freindly and the portions are huge for how much you pay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, and we were lucky enough to be here when the Christmas decorations were up, too. Service was reasonably quick and friendly. The food was very good and arrived quickly. Really our only complaint would be that the busboy should not wear a tee shirt with a disturbing political message.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Syd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not up to snuff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We ate in La Fonda last evening and were greatly disappointing. My first disappointment was that they did not serve beer. A big Mexican restaurant should serve beer in my opinion. My second disappointment was the not clean enough bathroom. If I had not been with a group I would have left at the point. instead I chose to order food that I knew needed to be served hot so I felt safe from contaminants. My husband has had an upset stomach all morning and I fear he may have gotten something not quite fresh.The service was slow and after the check came we were abandoned. The waitress never said we were to pay at the front but when we finally gave up on her coming back for the money we worked our way out and paid at the front desk. Of all the eight meals eaten at our table the only item that got high marks was the fried Sopapillas ordered for desert. La Fonda, You need to try harder.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dorotxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what's expected from authentic New Mexican food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

La Fonda's atmosphere is inviting and clean for the most part (aside from the bathroom, which is not super clean and was outta soap on my visit). After being seated we waited almost 10 minutes for someone to come wait on us. She was friendly, but did not come with the chips and salsa we had seen on every other table. We ordered our drinks and food together. My husband went with the stuffed sopapilla and I decided to sample a little bit of everything with a combo plate that consisted of a taco, enchilada, and relleno. I should have stuck with the taco plate. My taco was good. The red chile on the enchilada was worst red chile I had ever had and the relleno was stuffed with cheese whiz and smothered in velveta style cheese. Living in New Mexico my whole life, this is not what we have come to expect from Mexican food. This time we were just passing through Artesia, but if we ever find ourselves here again, La Fonda will not even be an option. I'd opt for a chimichanga from Allsups first.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momto2peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing