We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food in a nice atmosphere”
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, and we were lucky enough to be here when the Christmas decorations were up, too. Service was reasonably quick and friendly. The food was very good and arrived quickly. Really our only complaint would be that the busboy should not wear a tee shirt with a disturbing political message.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Syd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    31
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not up to snuff”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We ate in La Fonda last evening and were greatly disappointing. My first disappointment was that they did not serve beer. A big Mexican restaurant should serve beer in my opinion. My second disappointment was the not clean enough bathroom. If I had not been with a group I would have left at the point. instead I chose to order food that I knew needed to be served hot so I felt safe from contaminants. My husband has had an upset stomach all morning and I fear he may have gotten something not quite fresh.The service was slow and after the check came we were abandoned. The waitress never said we were to pay at the front but when we finally gave up on her coming back for the money we worked our way out and paid at the front desk. Of all the eight meals eaten at our table the only item that got high marks was the fried Sopapillas ordered for desert. La Fonda, You need to try harder.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorotxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what's expected from authentic New Mexican food.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

La Fonda's atmosphere is inviting and clean for the most part (aside from the bathroom, which is not super clean and was outta soap on my visit). After being seated we waited almost 10 minutes for someone to come wait on us. She was friendly, but did not come with the chips and salsa we had seen on every other table. We ordered our drinks and food together. My husband went with the stuffed sopapilla and I decided to sample a little bit of everything with a combo plate that consisted of a taco, enchilada, and relleno. I should have stuck with the taco plate. My taco was good. The red chile on the enchilada was worst red chile I had ever had and the relleno was stuffed with cheese whiz and smothered in velveta style cheese. Living in New Mexico my whole life, this is not what we have come to expect from Mexican food. This time we were just passing through Artesia, but if we ever find ourselves here again, La Fonda will not even be an option. I'd opt for a chimichanga from Allsups first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momto2peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Family Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have to confess I am off of most Mexican food anymore. Had the cheese enchilatas. OK. Prices are very reasonable and service is excellent. No beer or wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texas George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good food & service”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food here is good but not outstanding. The service was good also. There are few Mexican Restaurants that I would consider above average so this one is about average. Any thing is better than Taco Bell

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cctopcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing