We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Mexican Restaurant”
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
Ranked #13 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Family Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have to confess I am off of most Mexican food anymore. Had the cheese enchilatas. OK. Prices are very reasonable and service is excellent. No beer or wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texas George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    31
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good food & service”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food here is good but not outstanding. The service was good also. There are few Mexican Restaurants that I would consider above average so this one is about average. Any thing is better than Taco Bell

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cctopcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Past this one!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Terrible service, servers are more interested in chatting among themselves then providing service. The food at Taco Bell is a better bet!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really good tasting homeade mexican food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I really like this restaurant because they don't use store bought frozen foods. Everything is homemade. The taco shells and chips, the tortillas and sauces, the meats, beans and rice. Everything is just delicious.

I especially like their rice. When eating at mexican restaurants, rice can make or break the meal. If too dry, it can be difficult to chew. To much water and it becomes runny. At La Fonda, the rice is light, fluffy, does not leave any water, but is not dry. It is seasoned well and just tastes great.

I also really like the taco meat. Again, well seasoned and tastes great weather in the enchilada or the tacos.

The buffett is a good way to try many of the items from the menu and is reasonably priced under $10 + a 1.95 for a tea. They have chicken and beef items, a salad bar, with trimmings for your tacos, and a dessert bar.

If you are passing through Artesia during meal time, try this restaurant. I think you will enjoy it as much as I do.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctrknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“La Fonda”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice and I guess it depends on who is cooking on the day you eat. First day was bad, food was cold and tasteless. Second time, food was okay, chili rellenos were much better. Service was good and servers accomadating. No margaritas or any alcohol served here. It's tough to eat Mexican food without a margarita! They were very good about accommodating a large group of 12 and service is quick.

Helpful?
Thank Nalyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing