We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edible...not many places to dine is this small town”

Piccolino Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Edible...not many places to dine is this small town”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Both the food and service could be better at this restaurant. Dining options in Artesia are slim and this place is edible. Waitress forgot to bring dinner salads, but did apoligize.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mom_in_dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. I had meat lasagne and my wife had chicken piccata. We shared a glass of Merlot and I couldn't resist the spumoni ice cream for dessert. All of the food was outstanding !
The service was a little slow at times but mostly because a number of customers arrived simultaneously. The waitresses were friendly and helpful and apologized, explaining that they had a number of orders at the same time. We are here for three days and plan to eat at Piccolino again. The menu has a huge number of items from which to choose. The prices seemed very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BILL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riberac, France
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“And they serve wine!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After discovering that some of the restaurants in Artesia do not serve alcohol we ended up here, it was a very pleasant surprise. Unpretentious, perhaps a little loud, but a neat little restaurant and we both had very good pasta dishes and a couple of glasses of very quaffable wine. A reasonable price and the service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mittxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Recent TA reviews kind of panned this restaurant but having eaten here 3 times in the last 2 weeks, not sure why they had a bad experience. Service has always been decent, even when we had 6 of us one evening and at lunch when locals flock. Our last dinner there was excellent - I had the Michaelangelo pasta which had spinach and garlic in a light sauce and I wanted to lick the plate. My husband had the chicken Parmesan which he thoroughly enjoyed. The bread and hot marinara sauce that comes with dinner is a nice addition. It is a definite stop for us when in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank ABQJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you enjoy being forgotten by the wait staff, here you go.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was a Saturday night when they were not busy, our waitress (pregnant) was having a bad day that resulted in some of the worst service I have had in years. When trying to pay for my meal I asked if the meal was free? the other waitress said 'No, why?' I said 'we haven't seen our waitress with our check in 20 minutes, I assume dit was free because I don't know what to pay' She did not find any humor in that statement, nor did our waitress \, who was sitting 2 tables away. The up side is the food is great and a great value, the service that I tip for was a zero. I might consider it again but McD's next door offers faster and better service.
So service ZERO and food a NINE. Average a Four, maybe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bsgrilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Piccolino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing