We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Microbrews”

The Wellhead Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Is also a brewery. Food ia excellent as is the variety of locally brewed beer.
Wrightwood, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Microbrews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This restaurant is in the heart of downtown Artesia. The microbrew sampler is a great deal if you want to try different beers and the homemade stew is a great choice if you're looking for something light but savory.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokiecoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    43
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived on a holiday weekend and we were recommended the Wellhead by the hotel so decided to pop down as husband wanted to try the beer and there don't seem to be many other restaurants in town who serve alcohol. When we arrived we found the bar side of the restaurant to be a bit noisy so opted to be seated in the family section which was very nice. Saturday night crowd but not rowdy. Service started off iffy but once our waitress began to understand our accent turned out to be fantastic. The beer was excellent and the food was good, I had a chicken club which was far too big to finish and husband opted for the wings to start with the catfish for entree and they were both superb. Cannot fault the place the food was good and the service excellent would definitely recommend it as they were friendly and polite and it didn't take forever to get served as some others had stated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what you'd hope for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've been here twice on the recommendation of a local. the first was for an early dinner and it wasn't impressive. Average menu with average food. I had the steak and there are just better places in this town for that. On the second visit I and a coworker went in for a few drinks and hopefully dinner. We sat at the bar and didn't make it through a full beer before walking out. the staff made you feel very out of place and unwelcome. It was clear we were outsiders and they weren't very interested in making us feel any different. Looks like a good place for locals and regulars but not where you want to go on a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bayareatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for a beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Wellhead has quite good beer for the average brewpup, and excellent considering its location. I was sorry to see how little of their beer they sold in the two times we were there. But their food is average at best, and pretty expensive for what it is. But for Artesia, if you like beer, definitely try them out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyChiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Brew Pub with Oilfield food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great beer selection. Very popular among locals. Lots of oilfield memoribelia on the walls. Mostly cafe food and the catfish is excellent. Service can be a bit slow due to crowd.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Texas George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wellhead Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wellhead Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing