We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Hotel Artesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Artesia
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Reviewed October 7, 2010

What a beautiful hotel in a very urban area. Very modern and cool. Bathroom is very high class. I've never been to such a unique hotel. Price was very good too. Nice selection at breakfast. Very quiet on weekdays, although I heard from staff that bar is packed on weekends with karaoke and DJ.
FYI:My husband smelled an oil odor during the night but I didn't. However people we were with who were in the next room also smelled it. I guess somewhere in town they released some gas. Well it did seem like a "oil town."

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cressydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel one night for business. I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. The hotel had a bar and the stay included continental breakfast. The location was great - walking distance of several restaurants - La Fonda, Well Head Brewery. The room comfortable and nicely appointed with a contemporary theme. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Didn't use it, buy the pool looked nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My husband travels a lot for business, but our room in the Hotel Artesia rivaled the most elegant hotels in any metropolitan area. The location is handy - just off of the highway and one block off of Main Street, yet the room was very quiet. The hotel is very near a petroleum refinery - this didn't really bother us at all (we both grew up in oil towns), but could surprise someone unfamiliar with the area.
We stayed in Artesia because of its proximity to Carlsbad Caverns - all of the Carlsbad properties were full! In retrospect, we were lucky - I would choose the Hotel Artesia above any other hotels or inns I saw in the Artesia or Carlsbad area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nipperfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Hands down, best hotel in Artesia. Close to local dining and shops. Hotel has a bar onsite with great selection and a very pleasant atmosphere. When your day is over, the rooms provide a relaxing environment. Services you'd expect for business travel are available including free high speed wireless Internet, a free to use business center and optimal desk space in room. I would not stay anywhere else in town. This hotel has it all!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MjNMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We are traveling back to Texas from Telluride tomorrow and had seen the Hotel Artesia on our way up. We decided to change our plans and book the Hotel Artesia based on reviews on this website. I called and the reservationist said we could not have our whole family in one room. We have 3 young kids and know well from experience that if we book an adjoining room, the kids all end up in our room in an unfamiliar place. I also prefer having kids this age not have a separate exit in another room. We travel a lot as a family and have never had trouble having our kids in one hotel room. It looks like a nice place but we won't be giving it a try as they do not appear to be interested in families. Too bad. We plan to go back to Telluride many times and will drive right past it at the halfway point on our trip.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
Thank AtypicalTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhefler, Joy Barr, General Manager at Hotel Artesia, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2010

We have had many families enjoy the Hotel Artesia, but we must adhere to strict fire code regulations when it comes to the four-person maximum room occupancy when children who are no longer infants or toddlers. We offered this guest adjoining rooms at reduced rates as we could not exceed the room occupancy allowed by the local codes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Finally a high quality Hotel has arrived in Artesia.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CptDustOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Artesia recently. The location is excellent (a short walk to the 'LandSun' Theater - a quaint theater showing first run movies for about $3 cash/matinee; a short walk to the Piccolino Italian Restaurant - a step above a frozen dinner but good service). The room was clean (a few stray hairs in the bathroom and a bit of sediment in tub when we checked in but overall, very clean; acceptable). The toiletries seemed high quality and the towels and sheets were freshly bleached. The bathroom was quite large; the bed was very comfortable. The front desk supervisor (Kyla) was very gracious. The continental breakfast 'waitress' was very helpful and kept the area quite clean. The hotel bar area was very loud and the voices carried through our bottom level room; next time we'll ask for the 2nd floor. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skywalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Artesia hotels
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Artesia
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Artesia
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pecos Inn
Best Western Pecos Inn
#4 of 7 in Artesia
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Artesia
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#1 of 3 in Artesia
146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Inn & Suites
Legacy Inn & Suites
#7 of 7 in Artesia
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artesia

Address: 203 North 2nd Street, Artesia, NM 88210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Artesia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Price Range: $117 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artesia 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location and spacious accommodations of the Hotel Artesia. The selection of gracious amenities and elegant furnishings make us a great choice when you're visiting for a FLETC graduation, business or a southwest vacation getaway. In addition to our central location near so many things to do in Artesia, we feature a selection of services at our hotel in Artesia, New Mexico. We also have ample free parking with easy access from Highway 285; free breakfast and free WIFI throughout the hotel. From our premium amenities and well-appointed, stylish accommodations to our unparalleled service and fantastic location, we are setting a new standard for hotels in Artesia, New Mexico. Maintain your workout program in our thoughtfully designed fitness room. A wall-mounted flat screen television helps you pass the time while using the latest cardio equipment including treadmills and elliptical machines. Additionally, guests at our hotel enjoy complimentary access to the nearby Artesia Health and & Racquet Club which features a great fitness pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Artesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing