We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atmospheric in one of the greatest spots of the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Jaffa Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaffa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Jaffa Hostel
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“atmospheric in one of the greatest spots of the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

jus next to the Jaffa flea market and in walking distance to some of the doolest restaurants and bars in town (Vashti, Pooah, Container), it is a relaxed and calm place, lovely staff, most beautiful roof top and atmspheric interior.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
8
21
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were very happy with our stay. Not far from a quiet beach stretch, bike rentals and restaurants along the promenade. In the area there were also a lot of flea markets and antique shops to explore. Staff very friendly and helpful, the view from the rooftop is a perfect place to relax after a hot day with a great view over Tel Aviv. The room we stayed in was cosy but was not really clean to be comfortable with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strayl1ght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Way too much money for a tiny room with a musty smell! To make matters worse, the bathroom in our private room was infested with COCKROACHES, that eventually crept out into the super small room. When I let the reception know, she handed me a spray bottle and said it was because of the heat??? My husband and I have been traveling for over 2 months in the "heat" and have NOT encountered COCKROACHES! I was SO grossed out, and for $280 sheckels / $70 US we should be COCKROACH free! Clearly, the hostel is aware of their bug problem (hence the spray can) but are NOT dealing with the issue by calling an exterminator! We would NOT have booked had we known that the place is crawling with critters! Don't go unless you want to be infested!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christina229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaffa hotels

Maarsbergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The old jaffa hostel could have been a wonderful place to stay at, but right now it is not. It does not even come close to being wonderful, in fact it is rather run down. Ok, the location is fantastic and the building is athmospheric, with the old stuff on the walls as a nice touch, but the rooms have a neglected feel about them. Stay clear of room 13, as that in particular is a hole: the bed has seen better days back in 1940, the lighting is disastrous and the ceiling a joke. They have divided a room with a high ceiling into two rooms, so now both have that 'grotto' feeling about them.
The staff are ok, but don't ask too much. Breakfast is included, but you might as well skip it, unless you have a craving for two day old bread and frozen chocolate paste with bits in it.
All in all - yes, it definitely could have been a nice place, but right now it is not. Last stay here for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanoded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've stayed in Old Jaffa hostel two times, both times for about a week. As I've spent a lot of time in Israel studying and traveling, I want all the travelers to understand this: it's not Europe. You don't expect the same level of cleanliness, hospitality or facilities, at least not in this price category!

Having said that, I find Old Yafo hostel an excellent place to stay. Alright some members of the staff might be rude - simply ignore that, it's not half as bad as you might encounter elsewhere in Israel. My personal experience is that the owner is a very nice lady if you are able to ignore the possibly harsh first impression.

I stayed in both class B and C rooms. Would recommend the tiny B room with private bathroom (again remember this is Israel, no golden taps here). In both rooms you hear noise from the streets, but it's part of the atmosphere. Bring your earplugs.

It's the atmosphere that is the real asset of this hostel. Rooftop terrace with interesting views, cozy kitchen areas and, as they advertise, no loud MTV music. You'll meet interesting people at the rooftop and it's a short bike ride from city center. The rooms are full of old paintings, family pictures, small decorations... not to mention the stairs to reception. Lovely.

Imo both rooms and toilets are clean, as are the linen and towels. Women's communal shower can be described as an experience :) but it's still clean.

One warning if you arrive late at night. I woke up once to a woman screaming - she had just arrived from Ben Gurion and when the taxi left, she was robbed on the street. If you have to arrive late, ask the driver to escort you in, same goes for couples. The area around flea market is nice and lively but deeper in Yafo it might feel dodgy.

Room Tip: Class B rooms are tiny but have best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajahova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've stayed two nights in a dorm in this hostel in June 2011 and payed 16€ per night. I would recommend the hostel but I also noticed a few negative things.

First, I'll start with the positive:
The sanitary installations were clean and seemed to be cleaned every day.
The hostel had free WiFi (bad signal in the dorms, but good on the rooftop and the common area) and you can also use computers with Internet for no extra charge.
It also had a kitchen (located on the rooftop) with everything you need for cooking.
The best thing about the hostel was its rooftop! It was a great place to relax with a nice view over Tel Aviv and the sea and I also met some friendly people there.
It also offered the opportunity to wash your clothes. You can either use their washing machine for a little fee or you can use laundry detergent in a sink for no extra money.
The hostel is also very well situated. You can walk to a supermarket, the beach and old Jaffa within five minutes. To the center of the city it takes a bit longer but you can also use the bus.

No the not so good:
One woman at the reception was very unfriendly. I asked her something and she was very rude and answered like I just had woken her up.
In the dorm there was some sand on the floor (I don't know how often they clean them), but it was okay for a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fische1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you are looking for something different and something with character then the Old Jaffa hostel is for you. Our room was so cute with a little balcony overlooking the market, lots of pictures, wooden shutters, and a random ladder??? loved it! Yes, it isnt the cleanest, but for the price and for the feel it is worth it. The upstairs terrace was gorgeous too - a great way to meet other travellers. There is a kitchen with lots of pots & pans, mugs etc so if you want to save money or just have a stinking hangover you can make use of this. The beach is a very short walk, so are the markets. We walked into town to enjoy the bars and then took a taxi to a club. A great venue if you really want to make the most of your travelling experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaffa
0.2 mi away
Margosa Hotel
Margosa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaffa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Andromeda Hill Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Jaffa Hostel
Old Jaffa Hostel
#22 of 92 in Tel Aviv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clock - Tel Aviv Jaffa Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Casa Nova Hotel
Casa Nova Hotel
#1 of 3 in Jaffa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Jaffa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Jaffa Hostel

Property: Old Jaffa Hostel
Address: Rehov Olei Zion 8, Jaffa, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv > Jaffa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jaffa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Old Jaffa Hostel And Guest House Hotel Jaffa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing