We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tasty and a best service”
Review of Abrage

Abrage
Ranked #20 of 98 Restaurants in Jaffa
Price range: $16 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Abrage is situated at the picturesque ancient 6th square adjacent to St Peters church. Located in a historical building 100 years old Abrage is glorified with an Ottoman aroma that comes .deep from within the exposed stone walls and Turquoise arches that characterize this venue Anchored in the heart of the ancient square in old Jaffa, Abrage in the perfect venue for quaint affair, enhanced by the romantic adjacent wishing well, the cool sea breeze and the tree gardens. The rare location combined with our expertise chef's fish, sea fruit and meat dishes and our team who will endeavor to provide tailor made service will make your event an experience to remember. Whether you are on vacation, on tour of our historical city or on a indulging weekend Abarage is waiting to treat you to a break of culinary wit in a place where time is at a standstill.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

One of the best evenings thanks to the waiter . We came around 8 pm . the Place looks nice. We looked at the menu outside we found behind us a pretty waitress with a charming smile . We decided to sit down and the waitress offered us several types of fresh fish. Although we had no desire to eat fish. , But because of her smile and the amazing recommendations she won :)))we bought three fish were a bit expensive. But I loved the honesty of our waitress .(she mentioned the prices) The food was amazing. we had fun at last. she recommended us about wine Really tasty and not all that expensive . Finally she brought us a small dessert on the house. she asked if we can write a comment on this site for the sake(favor) of this restaurant . , But she insisted not to mention her name. , But I asked the other waiter who worked with her and he said that her name was hamy or hony thanks for every second there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stefo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear stefo s

it sounds like you and your group have a great sense of humor which can be activated by a pretty smile. Luckily, we serve those here. :-) I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and I thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I do hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in Old Jaffa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Abrage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 335 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went there on a cloudy Friday afternoon to celebrate wife's birthday. We reserved a place but the upper room was too smelly, so we found an empty table downstairs. Service was slow and indifferent because there was only one waiter for the whole 3 parts of the restaurant. Food wasn't price-worthy: We ordered the crab soup which was boring and not tasty (we had to return it and get a refund, sorry), the special seafood pot which was just OK, and black pasta which was very good actually. All in all- we are never going back there...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Tal R,

I am truly sorry to hear of your disappointing visit to Abrage- especially since it was supposed to be a happy celebration of your wife's birthday. I am glad to hear that you let the staff know of your displeasure with the soup so that it was removed from your bill, but I wish we had been able to make the day memorable in a good way for the two of you. Although you've said that you won't return- I sincerely hope that one day you will give us another chance to provide you with the high quality of service that we strive for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Don't miss this restaurant when you're visiting Tel Aviv/Jaffa. The setting is fantastic - right in the heart of the old part of Jaffa. But go for the food. Each dish I tried was delicious. Service was excellent. The restaurant is not kosher but you can easily avoid pork and shellfish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear JD28204,

thank you for your lovely review of Abrage. I'm pleased to hear how pleased you were with our food and service, and you are correct- there are plenty of options for those who keep kosher and don't eat pork or shellfish and we gladly welcome them. I do hope you'll have the opportunity to visit us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014


The food was great, but the same can be said of many restaurants in Tel Aviv / Jaffa. What set this place apart was warm and friendly service. Small complimentary appetizers were served before the meal. When the kitchen accidentally sent one dish that no-one ordered, they left it for us free of charge so we can taste somthing we never tasted and they sended us a wonderfull sawich with red palamida we tasted sawiches all around the world and that one was awsome. There was a complimentary dessert offered. When we were paying, the server told one of my friends that her card strip was bad, and asked for a different card. When we were leaving, he quietly pulled her aside and said that the first card has been declined (he was trying to save her the embarrassment.) 
The indoor decor was charming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fkkdidxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear fkkdidxb,

thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the food and more pleased that you enjoyed the service (and thrilled to hear that our staff handled a potentially uncomfortable situation with courtesy- it was kind of you to mention it.) Please join us again the next time you're in Israel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

After a very enjoyable dinner at Orna and Ella's in TLV, we took a walk along the waterfront to Old Jaffa, and lined up to take a seat at Abrage for dessert. The dessert menu did look good, but unfortunately there was no chance to try it. We waited for 30 minutes for any kind of service but we got nothing. Staff were constantly in and out of the outdoor area - they were even gathered talking next to our table, but still no service.

After witnessing a couple leave without paying for breads, and the couple next to us (who arrived when we did) leave, we did too, without even a glass of water. Instead we had an enjoyable dessert across the courtyard.

As we left, I told a staff member he'd just lost our custom, but he didn't seem to care.

Disappointing.

    • Service
1  Thank BriskyBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear BriskyBlair,

We clearly dropped the ball on this one and no matter what else might have been going on at the restaurant, we lost the chance that day to provide you with good food and service. I'm glad that you voiced your displeasure to staff, and I sincerely apologize that we didn't handle the situation more considerately. I do hope you will allow us another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abrage also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Abrage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing