We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total pig out!”

The Old Man and the Sea
Ranked #14 of 116 Restaurants in Jaffa
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Ajami
Description: Ernest Hemingway's 1952 novel The Old Man and the Sea depicts the world of a poor Cuban fisherman who fights the wild sea. These elements of sea, fish and noble nature have also inspired the establishment of the well-known restaurant on Jaffa's Kedem Street - The Old Man and the Sea.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This is not an "All you can eat" place but you most likely won't leave here having eaten everything that they put in front of your face! I don't know how they do it since the quantities of food here are enormous. However, unlike a typical "All you can eat" place, the food here is of high quality and very tasty! It really is quite the experience and a place that you should visit at least once while in Jaffa.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,487 of 4,109 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

Situated down in the port by the water's edge this popular restaurant has plenty of seating inside as well as outside. If you're not in a hurry then tell the waiter to slow down before they starting bringing you twenty different kinds of salads, included with the main course otherwise 50 Shekels per person, a small pitcher of fresh lemon mint juice, and a large baked pita bread is also included but if they don't bring one with Zatta then ask for it, it's so much better than the plain one.
When you finish a bowl of salad they replace it free. Plenty of different fresh fish to choose from as well as a large meat option and shrimps.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

I do not believe reservations are accepted so expect to be in queue. There is plenty of seating inside and out. At busy times e pet thibgs to be a little rushed. They serve you mint lemonade and an incredible amount of mezze. Plan on 1 entree for every 2-3 people depending on how much you enjoy the wonderful mezze and bread.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

If we lived here we would certainly go here often. Before we even ordered we were brought 20 small salads to share , a pitcher of fresh lemonade, and a huge fresh baked pita. If we ordered an entree, this was all complimentary. Or we could choose this for our lunch and then we would pay for it. We ordered one chicken shashlik to share. We made a valiant effort to eat all, but ended up taking much of it back to our room. The servers were very friendly and seemed to be enjoying their work. Our guide later told us that he was going to take us there. Many customers came & went while we were there. I highly recommend The Old man and the Sea in Old Yafo.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bay-Area-Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Recommend!!!! Great place. After a long day of walking in the old city of Jaffa we went inside the old man and the sea restaurant. We were greeted by friendly staff who served a cold pitcher of lemonade the moment we sat down. A minute later another waiter emerged with menus and 20(!!!!!!) small and tasty salads accompanied with fresh lafa (type of flat pita bread) still warm. We ordered a sea food dish and a meat dish and were not disappointed! The sea food was cooked to perfection and the meat was juicy and spicy. Next to our bill we got the cutest little traditional dessert and when asked for its name the waiter brought even extra! All in all-go for it, you will not be disappointed. Amazing food, amazing service and great prices which I would say are pretty low in comparison to what you get!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank irinixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Man and the Sea also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to The Old Man and the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.