We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cheap and local place to eat”

The Old Man and the Sea
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Jaffa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ernest Hemingway's 1952 novel The Old Man and the Sea depicts the world of a poor Cuban fisherman who fights the wild sea. These elements of sea, fish and noble nature have also inspired the establishment of the well-known restaurant on Jaffa's Kedem Street - The Old Man and the Sea.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great, cheap and local place to eat”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

When you arrive they will put on the table around 15 small plates with different food - like hummus, tahina, salads, bulgur ect. We are so amazed with all tastes that when we finished there was no place in our stomach for mains.

It is cheap and gives you the real taste of Jaffa.

The design is very local and weiters are not speaking good english what is making this place even more unique.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank liluitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    719
    296
    111
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very rushed service and just average food”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Aside from the 20 dishes of small plates which are dished out to you upon arrival (and definitely the highlight) this restaurant is very touristy, crowded and rushed with just mediocre food. After being recommended this restaurant by our hotel we sat outside and the staff were hurried and not particularly attentive. If we asked for something there was no acknowledgment that they had taken the order and it was confusing who was serving us. That being said they were not rude, I think just very busy but it didn't make for the most pleasant dining experience. We then ordered shrimp and calamari and these dishes were just ok but nothing special. At this point we were full from the pita bread and dips to manage much of it so we definitely left this restaurant feeling very full, just with a slightly bad taste in our mouths. We wandered along the harbour and saw so many other places that were more quaint and charming and regretted not looking for other options. I would not recommend this place but can see it being popular with large groups or families with children.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBellaBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A culinary and cultural infusion!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Classic Mediterranean cuisine of the finest and freshest produce of the land and sea. A moment after you are seated, 3 or 4 servers descent upon the table laden with more than a dozen small bowls tomatoes, hummus, onions, falafel, tahini, olives, peppers, variations of naan, pita bread and endlessly more.

The simple contents of each bowl prepared to perfection with a complexity of spices such as cumin, zatar, saffron, and many I could not identify. The fusion of simplest, freshest, and historical ingredients with the edgy nuance of ancient spices is an experience not to be missed. The various fish dishes our party of four ordered were prepared simply and perfectly. It was a sublime meal.

If I had to find something to fault it would be the narrow beer menu. But that is small beer indeed compared to a meal which set a new standard for superb Mediterranean cuisine. And the service was flawless. The Old Man and the Sea is absolutely first rate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Plentiful food but service could have been quicker”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a fairly traditional type of Isreali restaurant where you get showered (literally) with many plates of salads and houmous, baba ghanoush and tahini with enought pita to open a bakery with. And this they did very well, and it was all delicious, as the picture shows!

However, it was downhill from here. So, OK, there was a large table of us... 12/16 I guess, but from years of experience I know Israeli restaurants are used to big groups and this restaurant should have coped well, but didn't. Drinks were slow in coming, orders were tardy in being taken and generally we felt as if they kept forgetting about us.

To keep costs down we ordered the chicken (rather than the fish which was pricier, odd given that the restaurant is right next to Jaffa port - the name is a big hint!) and the chicken breast was tasty but the kebab was dry and indedible. We did get mint tea included in the price and a small dessert, but overall not sure it was good value for money. I won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOndon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

It randomly happened that i was close to this restaurant, which my friend recommended to me.
The most important: the food and the service were excellent. What else you need?!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shiofere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Man and the Sea also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to The Old Man and the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing